Girlfriends Review: The Girlfriends Mixer

So, last night was the night.  THE night.  The ultimate girl’s night out.  As part of our ministry for the ladies of MLC, Girlfriends, we hosted a spectacular night of shopping with friends.  We invited 40 vendors to set up booths to show off and sale their goodies, and we opened the doors wide to the women of our church and community.  We decorated.  We planned giveaways.  And, we spread the word. 

And, we had success.

But, my definition of success might surprise you.  Success isn’t huge attendance – although we certainly had it.  Success isn’t a lack of hiccups in the production of the event – although everything went according to plan.  Success isn’t having every volunteer position filled – although we did. 

Success for all the Girlfriends events is this: to get to know each other and Jesus a little better each month.  Friendship was my focus last night.  Creating ways for women to connect, share their lives, have some fun, and deepen their bonds. 

Why? Because God created us to be in relationship with Him AND with others.  He created us to need friendships!  But, sometimes, life gets in the way, doesn’t it?  Our schedules rob us of the time we need to invest into each other, to laugh at inside jokes, or to meet each other’s needs.  So, last night, we had nothing to stop us.  We shopped.  We laughed.  We connected.  And, we enjoyed the relationships God created us to have.

Check out this comment I received:

“Tricia, that was awesome!  I had so much fun at Girlfriends.  I ran into a friend I had not seen in over 20 years.  Also, I invited friends I had not seen in years.  I can’t wait until the next one.  I love connecting with other women!  Girls Rule!”

Well, friends, I agree.  And, I’m refreshed because of the fun I had with you last night.  So are my daughters.  They shopped till they dropped, and each time I saw them their bags were a little more full!  Because of them, my wallet is lighter.

But, because of you, my heart is fuller!

 

Leave a comment