There’s A Harvest Coming

reap“You will always harvest what you plant. Those who live only to satisfy their own sinful nature will harvest decay and death from that sinful nature. But those who live to please the Spirit will harvest everlasting life from the Spirit. So let’s not get tired of doing what is good. At just the right time we will reap a harvest of blessing if we don’t give up. Therefore, whenever we have the opportunity, we should do good to everyone—especially to those in the family of faith.” ‭Galatians‬ ‭6:7-10‬ ‭NLT‬‬

Our God is the Author of order and justice. The whole world is run by His system of blessing and consequence, and He longs for us to choose paths that lead to blessing rather than pain. Small daily decisions can reap a harvest of goodness in our lives. Check it out:

  • If I plant love, I will reap a life that others will honor and cherish.
  • If I plant joy, I will reap the satisfaction of seeing joy in others.
  • If I plant forgiveness and grace, I will reap a heart that is free of bitterness and pain.
  • If I plant words that are guarded rather than allowing words to roll out of my mouth without thought, I will reap healthier relationships and friends/family who feel valued and respected.
  • If I plant service toward others, I will reap the smile of my Heavenly Father as I model my life after His.
  • If I plant contentment, I will reap feelings of thankfulness and gratitude.
  • If I plant discipline, I will reap a successful life with few regrets.
  • If I plant time in Scripture, I will reap wisdom, understanding of God’s ways/purposes, and I will have a Psalms 1 life (my life will be like a tree planted by streams of water who yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither!).
  • If I plant time into relationships, I will reap friends who deeply cherish and value me.
  • If I plant tithes into the church, I will reap blessings from God as He provides for my every need.
  • If I plant consistency in church attendance, I will reap spiritual knowledge and Godly relationships that will help me remain true to my faith.
  • If I plant time in worship, I will reap a humble, God-centered heart as I celebrate His attributes and goodness (which brings another blessing: God opposes the proud but draws near to the humble).

We harvest what we plant. What are you planting today?

6B6A23A1E06E69BEB0124FAF2CA3C684

Leave a comment

