Morning Musings

movingI like things to be neat and orderly. Especially in my home. But these days, my home is full of broken down packing boxes, pictures leaning against walls, and bare windows. Nothing is in place, and so much still needs to be done. And, trust me, it’s NOT neat and orderly.

My methods are neat and orderly, either. As I began organizing the bedroom, I realized a box belonged in my hubby’s study so I scooped it up and headed in that direction. When I placed it on the floor of his office, I noticed his computer was unprotected on the floor. I placed it on his desk and then started removing packing paper from his bookshelves when I saw two lamps that belonged in the den. I scooped them up and headed in that direction…..

Apparently, I have Moving ADD. I can’t stay focused on one project. If only I had someone working ahead of me….putting all items in their proper rooms….so that when I tackled a project, I could stay locked in that room until it was finished. Ahhh, the woes of moving.

My respite from the chaos are my mornings with God. In those moments, He quiets my brain and my impatient heart. He reminds me of Who He is.

Yesterday, I read this passage from Luke 22:10-13. In it, Jesus is telling the disciples where to prepare the Passover Meal.

He replied,” As soon as you enter Jerusalem, a man carrying a pitcher of water will meet you. Follow him. At the house he enters, say to the owner, ‘The Teacher asks: Where is the guest room where I can eat the Passover meal with my disciples?’ He will take you upstairs to a large room that is already set up. That is where you should prepare our meal.” They went off to the city and found everything just as Jesus had said, and they prepared the Passover meal there.

Did you catch it? Jesus directed them to a room that was “already set up!” While the disciples had been working on other things, God had prompted a man in Jerusalem to prepare a room for them. God had worked ahead of them to prepare the way!

I wonder if that man questioned God? Did he wonder why he was preparing a room when he wasn’t expecting guests? I wonder if he was shocked when Jesus showed up? I wonder if the disciples were amazed that a place had been set aside for them in advance? I wonder if any of them were in awe of the way Jesus works?

I sure am. I stand amazed at how God works ahead of me all the time. He weaves circumstances and events together and simply asks me to go. That’s it. He does the prep work; I simply join Him in His work. So while I wish someone would work ahead of me as I unpack (far too many) boxes, I don’t have to wish that for my life. My God works ahead of me all the time preparing the way.

He provides relationally.

He provides financially.

He provides spiritually.

He provides emotionally.

He works ahead of me…and you.

Maybe you, like me, needed to be reminded of that today. And maybe, you, like me, will stand in awe of the way God works. 

6B6A23A1E06E69BEB0124FAF2CA3C684

Leave a comment

