Relationships Aren’t One-Sided

phoneLast Friday morning I was one of the first customers in my local Sprint store to purchase not one, not two, but three iPhone 6’s for my two daughters and me. How could we afford 3 phones, you ask? Well, two of us were due for upgrades and one of us was getting her very first phone. All of us had money saved and ready….and we were so excited. For days we surfed the web investigating the cool new features of the iPhone and our anticipation was building.

So when I stood at the Sprint counter and listened to the saleslady explain that one of our upgrades wasn’t exactly what we thought, you can only imagine my disappointment. In a flash my mind began spinning how I would explain to my daughter that she wasn’t due to cradle a new iPhone in her little warm hands until next spring. It’s a first world problem for sure, but my heart sank nonetheless. We had been talking, dreaming, researching, and planning for this phone for months. My only option? Pay the full $650 for a new phone.

Ummmm, TOTALLY not going to happen. 

So I began to wheel and deal (that’s the Southern phrase for begging with dignity). It took awhile, but by the time I left, I had three new iPhone 6’s, one free phone case, and three free Invisible Shield screen protectors. And I didn’t have to pay $650.

Competition is a beautiful thing, isn’t it? Sprint wants to compete with other cell phone carriers for business, and they are willing to work for it. They, as a company, are doing what it takes to win loyal customers by promoting attractive pricing, unlimited data, and fantastic trade-in values for old phones. And it’s working…..at least for my family. I was ready to do a cartwheel in the store after all the store manager gave me.

Sprint is a business, and they are simply out to make some money. Nevertheless, their promotions won me over as a customer. Do you know what I was reminded of? Blessing others wins their love. Treating others with respect wins respect. Giving to others always blesses the giver in return.

Do your relationships need a boost? Are you craving a new level of intimacy and loyalty in your friendships? Would you like more friends? Bless someone. Show respect more often. Give to others. It’s really quite simple. The old adage is true: to have a friend, we must be a friend. In some ways, Sprint was a good friend to me last week, and I was reminded of how important it is to treat others well.

Relationships are never one-sided. If they are, they’re over. So, this week, reach out to others. Give, Respect. Love. Bless. Don’t wait for others to invest into you….seize the day to invest into them!

 

6B6A23A1E06E69BEB0124FAF2CA3C684

Leave a comment

