My Only Appointment This Summer

lazyI love the unstructured, unplanned days of summer. August through May, my family has demands, appointments, deadlines, and expectations that fill each day. Every day. Summers bring a very welcomed respite from that pace, but I still keep SOME structure. My kids sleep a bit later…..giving me the opportunity to lounge in my bed with my iPad. I read my bible and pray….and check the news and weather ….without interruption. Everyday. I have to wake up earlier than the kiddos , but it is always worth it! A structured plan to spend time with God means I’m walking TOWARD God and a healthy relationship with Him. On the flip side, when I don’t spend time with Him, I’m walking away from Him.

During our busier months, I wake up between 5-5:30AM in order to grab those quiet moments. In the summer, I get to stretch that to 6:30 or 7AM. For those of you who hate mornings, I’m sure you are rolling your eyes right now. Well, pull those peepers back into place and keep reading. Finding quiet, undisturbed, undistracted moments to read God’s Word and talk to Him are critical to spiritual health. Let me correct that. Moments aren’t enough.

Praying while we drive isn’t enough.

Talking to God while we walk a few laps around the ‘hood isn’t enough.

Those flip-style devotional calendars? Not enough. 

Squeezing time with God into our already full agenda isn’t enough. I’m sure God isn’t impressed by our ability to multitask.

The fact is spending undistracted, focused time reading God’s Word transforms us into wise, mature, and equipped Christians. The bible teaches us what God is like, how He relates to us, and how we should respond to the world. When we study its stories, we find parallels to our lives….and answers to our questions. Then, we can take the next step  – actually living out what we’ve learned.

We don’t get that kind of info when the sum total of our plan for spiritual growth is a prayer walk.

So while I’m enjoying the lazy days of summer, I’m taking advantage of the extra time to read. My YouVersion bible app is in full swing. I’m reading the bible in chronological order (just a few chapters daily) and I’m reading a short plan by Rick Warren called God’s Prescription For A Healthy Life (just a 16 plan). I’m going to pull my kids into the mix, too. We’re going to choose one book of the bible to read together this summer – their choice. I’ll let you know how it goes!

The bible is God’s love letter to us. Don’t neglect it. Instead, blow off the dust and crack it open. I promise you’ll be glad you did.

6B6A23A1E06E69BEB0124FAF2CA3C684

Leave a comment

