My Plan For Personal Growth

“My life definitely runs me. I don’t seem able to run it!”

“The ‘plan your work and work your plan’ is good advice, but what’s a good plan??”

“My life is more chaos than order. HELP!”

Recently, I told you guys what my Top Ten were – the top ten areas where I focus my time and energy – and it seems I’ve hit a nerve. Many of you have expressed your own frustrations when it comes to accomplishing your daily to-do’s. Life comes at most of us like an open fire hydrant dousing us with a barrage of demands, requests, and deadlines, and we’re left drowning in the mess. We don’t mind working hard…we just want to work hard on the things that matter most. We want to lay our head on our pillow at night feeling satisfied, not defeated.

So in order to ensure that I accomplish the things most important to me, I’ve made a plan. Well, actually several plans. And I’m going to share them with you. Maybe you’ll find an idea here or there that you can implement. Maybe you’ll be inspired to share a few of your own ideas, too. Over the next several posts, I’ll share my plans for:

Personal Growth

Leading/Supporting my family

Using the gifts God gave me

Building Community

Let’s start with Personal Growth. For me, this includes spending time with God, physical fitness, and rest/margin. 

1. Time with God: Each morning between 5-5:30 I read the Bible or the YouVersion app on my iPhone. I usually follow a planned reading guide or engage in a book study. I take notes, highlight key passages, and record my thoughts. I listen for what God is saying to me,then I talk to Him. It’s not rocket science; it’s a simple plan to knowing God. I finish up around 6AM when my first child wakes up. I never have any distractions this early in the morning, and it’s a great way to start my day.

2. Physical Fitness: Once my kids are out the door for school, I meet friends at 8:40AM Monday through Friday for a good workout. We grab light weights (and my trusty fan because I need cool air blowing) and follow an exercise DVD. The workouts typically take 40-60 minutes. I don’t plan any appointments before 10:30AM so I have no excuses to miss working out! Without a set time and plan, I am certain I would never workout.

3. Rest/Margin:

  • Since Sundays are a work day for my family, and we only get a couple of hours to rest on those days. We usually spend that time on the couch watching movies. My hubby and I have made Monday’s our day of rest, instead. It’s his day off, and we plan NO appointments. NO phone calls. NO agenda. There are exceptions, of course, but they are few and far between.
  • I build down-time into my daily schedule. For instance, I stop working on projects 30 minutes prior to my kids arriving home from school, allowing me time to decompress and recharge before my family requires my attention and energy.
  • I also keep certain times during the week unscheduled. I call this time “margin.” Because I don’t schedule every minute of my life, I can say yes to unexpected opportunities/demands that arise. God doesn’t always stick to my schedule, so I better make room in the margins for Him to change my plans!
  • I clock-out at 5PM. As a stay at home mom, my work is never finished, but it’s important to me (and my family) that chores and tasks end and family fun begins. I wouldn’t like it if my husband came home from work and then locked himself in his home office to work some more, so I shouldn’t do it, either! Rest is good for all of us!

So, there you have it: my plan for Personal Growth!

What about you? Any ideas? Any suggestion? What is YOUR plan for Personal Growth?

6B6A23A1E06E69BEB0124FAF2CA3C684

Leave a comment

