The Big Purge

cluttered-closetI’m not a pack rat.  Not even close.  But, I’ve lived in my current home for 7 years, and things have a way of accumulating.  Especially in the less noticeable parts of my home.

Like in the guest bedroom closet.

That closet has become the home of storage tubs, unwanted pillows, empty packing boxes, and the doors off of my entertainment armoire (which my sneaky husband removed late at night while I slept….much to my chagrin).  Needless to say, there was no more room in the closet for guests to hang their clothes or store their luggage.  But, who cares, right? I mean, very few people ever see that closet, and our guests could deal with the inconvenience of living out of their suitcases during their visit.  Surely the gifts I leave on their bedside table make up for the hassle.

My attitude has been one of “out of sight, out of mind.” That is, until I walked into the closet the other day.  Appalled, I tell you.  Embarrassed, even.  I can’t believe I let that closet become so junky.  So, today is garbage day, and my curb is full of boxes and broken picture frames.  The trunk of my car is full, too.  I’ve loaded it up with donations to a local thrift store.  Once the “big purge” began, I found it a little addicting.  I’ve tackled a linen closet and the kids’ bathroom, as well.  Now I find myself wandering through these rooms, admiring my handiwork.  A little attention to some “out of sight” places has proven pretty satisfying for me.  Not so much for my husband, though.  I think he might be a little on edge with the purge.  I heard him tell our son, “Don’t stay in the same place too long, Paul.  She’ll throw you out, too.”

Maybe you have some “out of sight, out of mind” places that need a little extra attention, too.  Maybe it’s a room of the house or a space in your heart.  Maybe it’s an overcommitted calendar or out-of-control spending.  The big purge might prove pretty satisfying to you, too.   Our homes – and lives – don’t have to be full of clutter.  Learn to let go of the unnecessary so you can embrace the essential.

6B6A23A1E06E69BEB0124FAF2CA3C684

Leave a comment

