The Idol of More

Each month I write an article for a local magazine, Up In Cumming, and I enjoy sharing those articles with you, too.  Hope you like it:

thMore.  We all want more.  More stuff.  More money.  More time.

I’m no different.  I want more, too.  I want a fire pit in the back yard and a fresh coat of exterior paint on the house.  I want more money to set aside for retirement.  And, I want the iPhone 5.  Since I’m due for an upgrade soon, I’ll be able to mark that last one off the list….until the next generation comes out.

But, you know what? I already have MORE.  I have tons of tech-y gadgets.  I have plenty of home decorations.  And, my current phone meets my needs.  Yet, it doesn’t matter.  I still want more.  Do you relate at all?

I think you do.  I live in your neighborhood.  I see you at church.  I see you in the checkout lines.  You want more, too.

For some of us, though, the desire for “more” isn’t just an outlet for fun.  It has become a driving force in our lives.  We assume the house on the lake or the cabin in the mountains will provide the rest we crave.  We assume the promotion at work will provide the significance we want.  We assume the perfect body, the award-winning yard, the next big thing will give us the identity, the security, or the satisfaction we desire.

When that happens, we’ve got a problem.  You see, when we expect our possessions to provide the fulfillment that only God can deliver, we find ourselves running in circles.  Constantly wanting more, hoping to find happiness in the created, rather than the Creator.  In many ways the “more” in our lives becomes an idol – something we love or revere because of what it can provide.

So, how do we know when we’ve crossed the line?  How do we know when our desire for “more” has become an idol in our lives?

It’s simple.  When our desire for “more” hinders us from having a rich relationship with God, we’ve crossed the line.  Flooding our lives with “more” in the hopes of feeling better about ourselves, our worth, or our status will only leave us with a deeper sense of emptiness.  Friends, God created us to be filled by Him – His definition of success, His definition worth, His peace, and His affirmation.

If you crave identity, security, fulfillment….if you crave love, peace, acceptance……if you crave happiness, seek it from the only Source that can truly deliver.  Enjoy the fun that comes from your possessions – enjoy those lake days, sleep with your iPhone (don’t act like you don’t; I know it stays within arm’s reach at all times), wear your bling.  But, see it for what it is – just stuff.  Remind yourself that only through a rich relationship with your Heavenly Father will you find true happiness.

You are more than your possessions.  You are a child of God.  Run to Him, not to your stuff.

6B6A23A1E06E69BEB0124FAF2CA3C684

Leave a comment

