Good Counsel

Next week, I will complete a 9 month mentoring session for a friend of mine.  She is a fellow Pastor’s wife who is about to embark on the wild adventure of church planting – one I’m not sure we’re ever fully prepared for!

Each month, we talked about various aspects of ministry life and ways we could improve or stretch ourselves.  We shared our hearts and prayed for one another.  And, we shared creative ideas for our families, our churches, our ministries, and our leadership influence.

This friend of mine will have her hands full as she and her husband plant a new church, and hopefully she is better able to address the issues they’ll face in the years to come because of our time together.  Maybe she’ll avoid the pitfalls of blurring the lines between marriage and ministry.  Maybe she’ll leverage her influence a little better.  Maybe she’s learned the importance of carving out time to sharpen her skills and deepen  her faith.

Did you know that God has something to say about mentoring?  Check it out:

Plans succeed through good counsel; don’t go to war without wise advice.” Proverbs 20:18

What about you?  Do you seek good counsel?  Do you seek wise advice?  Let me encourage you to carve out one hour a month to sit down with a trusted, Godly friend and spend some time making each other better.  As you sip a Java Chip frappuccino, ask about one another’s spiritual growth, challenge each other to improve the chaotic parts of your lives.  Pray for one another.  Be intentional.  And make it a standing appointment or it simply won’t happen.

I wished I could have had the benefit of someone guiding me through the up’s and down’s of church planting when my husband and I started Mountain Lake Church, but I didn’t.  I walked the minefield of leadership and public life alone.  And I made mistakes that I could have avoided.  Now that I’m a little farther along in ministry experience, I’m finding ways to provide the counsel I needed back then to a few other women following in my footsteps.

Don’t go it alone!  Seek good counsel for your life and ministry! Grab a trusted friend and a cup of something yummy and dive into a few questions like these:

  1. What are you currently reading in Scripture?
  2. What is God teaching you?
  3. Where/how are you using your gifts to serve in the local church? How is God stretching you in this area?
  4. Are you tithing?
  5. How is your marriage? How are you supporting your spouse? How are you handling conflict?
  6. How are you loving and leading your children?
  7. What are you currently struggling with?
  8. What are some areas you are seeing success and growth in your life?
  9. Who are you investing into?
  10. What do you want to improve in your life, spiritual walk, friendships, or work life?

Spend some time helping yourself – and others – succeed in marriage, ministry, and life.

What about you?  Have you experienced “good counsel” like this?  Share your ideas with me!

6B6A23A1E06E69BEB0124FAF2CA3C684

7 thoughts on “Good Counsel

    • Thanks, Elana! I’ll see what I can do a few “first year” posts. Just realized you are from SF. I have another friend out there, too. Shauna Pilgreen at Epic Church. Wondered if the two of you knew of one another. Church planters gotta stick together!

      Like

      • Yes! she is great! We just met a few months ago and are having breakfast again on monday in fact :o). Thanks for the reply…. I’m feel like our church is my 5th baby and we are in nursing phase :o) Lots of work, but if we feed ourselves & our baby well we will grow a healthy “adult” :o)

        Like

Leave a comment

