Bribery and Jesus

It started on a whim.

One morning on the way to school, my youngest child, Paul, recited a verse he had learned in Kraze. His sister, Madison, knew it, too.  Then she rattled off another verse she happened to know, which Paul repeated.  They were pretty impressed with themselves for knowing two verses.

On our way to school the next morning, I asked one of them to pray out loud, and then, out of the blue, they both recited their verses again.  I taught them one more for good measure, and so began our newest tradition: praying and memorizing bible verses on the way to school.

When they had mastered 8 verses, I dangled a carrot in front of them: $10 for 10 verses.  Yeah, I know, bribery might not be the wisest avenue to take, but they took the bait, and today they earned $10 each! Here are the verses they’ve memorized:

Genesis 1:1 In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.

Exodus 20:3 You must not have any gods but me.

Isaiah 6:8 I heard the voice of the Lord.  He said, “Who will I send? Who will go for us?” I said, “Here I am.  Send me.”

Psalms 39:7 Where should I put my hope?  My only hope is in You.”

Psalms 119:27 Help me understand the meaning of Your commandments, and I will meditate on Your wonderful deeds.

Proverbs 11:25 The generous shall prosper. Those who refresh others will themselves be refreshed.

John 3:16 For God so loved the world, He gave His only Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have eternal life.

Philippians 4:13 I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. 

James 1:19 Understand this, brothers and sisters: All of you must be quick to listen, slow to speak, and slow to get angry.

James 3:2 For indeed we have all made many mistakes.  For if we could control our tongues, we would be perfect and able to control ourselves in every other way.

Pretty awesome, huh? It may look like a lot, but it literally takes us about 5-6 minutes to pray and recite the verses. I especially love when they explain the verses to me.  Understanding is more important than memorization.

Want to know the best part? As they’ve recited those verses each morning, I’ve learned them, too.  Score!

Today, I’m one proud mama….especially because the kiddos just found 2 new verses.  They want to tackle another set of 10!

If you are looking for an easy way to disciple your kids, give this a shot.  You just might find you disciple YOURSELF in the process.

6B6A23A1E06E69BEB0124FAF2CA3C684

Leave a comment

