On My Kids’ Bookshelf

A few weeks ago, my husband and I celebrated Easter with our Ministry Team at Mountain Lake Church.  The weekend before Easter (since the weekend of Easter would be FAR too busy) we enjoyed a beautiful lunch after our worship services, a glow-in-the-dark Easter egg hunt (yes, we believe in Jesus and still hunt eggs), and several games for the kiddos. The adults, of course, had a great time, too.  A buffet of ham, mac and cheese, green beans, bread, and a strawberry and spinach salad kept us busy.  Did I mention a table of desserts that would put pounds on your hips by just looking at it?  It was great to connect in an unhurried way with the people we love and partner with.

But, my favorite part was a gift my husband gave to each of the kids of our Team.  The Story of God and All Of Us, the bible in novel form based on The Bible mini-series.  If you are looking for a good book for your young reader, I highly recommend this one.  Using common language in story form, The Story of God and All Of Us is a page-turner.  My kids have been reading it each night, and I hear them talking about the stories they’ve read.  One night, I crawled in bed with my youngest two kids and read the book to them, getting caught up in the narrative and reading far longer than I intended.  They kids didn’t mind….they were thrilled to stay up later.

So, that’s what’s on my kids’ bookshelf.  Hope my recommendation helps some of you.  And, for you more advanced readers, it comes in an adult version, too!  Happy reading!

6B6A23A1E06E69BEB0124FAF2CA3C684

One thought on “On My Kids’ Bookshelf

  1. Collins, Shelley A. says:

    Thanks for the tip, Tricia. I just bought one from the Amazon link in your email below. Can’t wait to read it with the kids!

    Like

Leave a comment

