Spring Cleaning

springcleanHere in Georgia, we’ve had a few brilliantly sunny afternoons lately.  Blue skies.  Mild(ish) temps.  Rain has hit occasionally, but the few hints of warmer weather have put my Spring Fever in full tilt.

I’m ready for shorts and flip-flops.

I want to clock in some time in a lounge chair beside a pool.

I want to see blooming flowers.

I want to smell freshly cut grass.

Yep, I’m ready for Spring.  But, before I can enjoy all the fun of the great outdoors, there’s one thing I MUST do: Spring Clean!!

I LOVE to clean out and organize things, and there’s no better time to do it than now.  Outside, all things are becoming new again, and I want the same feeling inside my home.  So far, I’ve tackled my living room, dining room, and one bathroom by washing baseboards, dusting blinds, and vacuuming under all the sofa cushions.  In the days to come, closets will be cleared of old clothes, the bathroom vanities will be purged of clutter, and desks will be reorganized.  I’ll deal with one room at a time until I earn Good Housekeeping seal of approval.  Cleaning out and refreshing my home just feels GOOD!

So, I’m wondering who is like me?  Who will take part in a traditional Spring Cleaning session?  And, if you are, do you have any tips?  Here’s one of mine:  I fill a bathtub with water and Fabuloso (a great, inexpensive cleaning liquid; my scent is lavender).  Then, I soak my blinds for a bit, drain them on some beach towels, and re-hang.  My blinds are clean, and the house smells divine.

Here’s one more tip:  get the kids in on the action!  Hand each child a trash bag and ask them to toss the junk out of the closets and desks.  I’m always amazed at how much they’ll accomplish….usually asking for additional trash bags!  We give away what is still usable and toss the rest.  (Confession:  I’ve been known to wait until the kids leave for school and then give their rooms my own perusal.  I may or may not throw things away when they aren’t looking.)

Your turn!  What will you be Spring Cleaning?

6B6A23A1E06E69BEB0124FAF2CA3C684

6 thoughts on “Spring Cleaning

  1. Tricia,

    I like to clean out and organize things as well, but I usually do it throughout the year rather than one particular time. My house is overdue for a deep cleaning though and hopefully I will be able to devote some time to that soon. I think I will wait until after pollen season.

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne

    Like

    • Yep, I like cleaning as I go, too. I just feel better in an organized space. But, nevertheless, a deep clean at the beginning of each season clears out the clutter and makes things feel fresh again. I wish it felt more like Spring around here, though….snow flurries this morning!!

      Like

Leave a comment

