Flannel Boards and Other Intimidating Things

Each month I write a little diddy for a local magazine, Up In Cumming, and I like to share those articles with you guys, too. This month the magazine focuses on ‘”family time.” 

Sometimes I amazed by those families. You know the ones. They have family devotions. Every day. The mom creates handy-dandy crafts to complement the devotional lesson. Bible verses are memorized, and their refrigerators are adorned with popsicle-stick characters from the Old Testament. They probably even have their very own flannel board for story-telling. Yeah, those families.

The Lovejoy’s aren’t like that. At all. I’m not the mom who likes to make crafts, and my patience wears thin when we try to corral our family to sit still and pay attention.

Yet, I wholeheartedly believe that parents are the best teachers for their kids and that there is nothing more important than teaching them about God. I just take a different approach. I tend to grab teachable moments as they come and leverage them to show my kids the value of Godliness, obedience, love, and generosity.

I’ll give you an example: my oldest daughter sat with me during one of our services at MountainLakeChurch not long ago. She was absolutely tuned in to what her dad was teaching on stage as she took notes and underlined verses in her Bible. Occasionally, she leaned over to whisper a question or clarify a thought, and I had the chance to direct her to additional verses and show her some ways to learn even more. That doesn’t happen in every church service, so when I recognized her interest, I seized the teachable moment.

I look for similar opportunities with my younger two children. For instance, the other day when my little boy got his feelings hurt, we talked about the need to repair and restore the relationship because “a friend loves at all times” (Proverbs 17:17). A real life experience…..related back to God.

Of course, I leverage my influence in the social media arena, as well.  My oldest daughter and I have thought-provoking conversations about posts we see on Facebook and Twitter.  Often, I’m able to springboard off those posts to guide her toward making wise choices and why she should make them. It’s not my goal to be “preachy.” I simply want to coach her to be the best young woman she can be – relationally and spiritually.

So, we haven’t bought a flannel board or finger puppets. Nothing against puppets, mind you. I’m just not wired that way. And, just in case you’re not wired like that either, I want to encourage you to look for everyday, teachable moments and make the most of them! Don’t let it intimidate you. Discussing real life situations can be one of your best tools for instilling integrity and moral character in your children.  Take the time to pass along the wisdom that you possess.  You CAN do it!

6B6A23A1E06E69BEB0124FAF2CA3C684

 

2 thoughts on “Flannel Boards and Other Intimidating Things

  1. Love this post Tricia! I’m all about “teachable moments”. For kids, application is everything and I believe they learn the most and remember the lesson better when they can apply to an current situation. (That apply’s to adults too! Ha!) great encouragement for all of us parents.
    -April

    Like

Leave a comment

