Parenting 101

This weekend, my husband continued a teaching series at Mountain Lake called Family Tree.  We’ve taken a hard look at why so many modern families describe themselves as dysfunctional and what we, as Christians, can do to be the functional families God intended us to be. We’ve talked about the roles of men, the role of women, and this weekend we tackled the role of parents.

Shawn’s message was packed with Scriptures which corrected wrong thinking, inspired new ideas, and encouraged us to own our role as parents, and I talked to so many parents who left with a renewed desire to lead and love well.

Which brings me to the point of this post.  I’m no expert on child-rearing.  I’ve made my share of mistakes as a parent.  But, I have also done a few things right!  So, today I wanted to share one idea with you to teach your kids about God.  Interested?  Good!

Each day as I take my 8- and 9-year-old’s to school, I ask one of them to pray out loud.  Before they do, we brainstorm what we’d like to talk to God about.  We pray for sick friends, for our sponsored Compassion children, for memory recall on tests, or for help for others.  We thank God for our sweet family and for sleepovers.  And, we ask God to help us recognize who might need our help today.  Easy stuff.  Each day a different child prays, and as they do, they are learning TONS!

1. They are building their own relationship with God.

2.  They are getting comfortable with praying out loud. (I know SO MANY adults who are scared to death to pray aloud.)

3.  They are recognizing when and how God answers their prayers.

4.  They are creating a habit of talking to God.  

After they finish praying (which sometimes includes a “P.S. God” when they forget something), we go over a few memory verses.  Don’t think I’ve researched the Bible to select passages to memorize.  I’m not THAT good.  I simply take the help the Children’s Ministry at church has provided!  They give the kiddos verses to focus on each week, so we’re putting them to good use.  Here’s what they’ve been memorizing this month:

John 3:16 For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

Isaiah 6:8 Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?” And I said, “Here am I. Send me!”

Philippians 4:13 I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

Psalm 119:27 Help me understand the meaning of your commandments, and I will meditate on your wonderful deeds.

Sometimes I’ll ask them to explain the verses to me.  If they stumble, I guide them to understanding.  It’s my job!  I’m supposed to train them up in the way they should go!

The entire process only takes 5-7 minutes, but it’s so effective.  If you are looking for an easy way to begin training your kiddos, give my method a try.

Any parent can do this!  Every child needs this!

Do you have some easy ways to teach your kids about God?  Talking about what you learned at church during Sunday lunch…..reading a devotional together before bed…..reading a book of the bible together…..I’d love to hear what you’re up to!  And, don’t miss next weekend’s church services – Shawn will wrap up this series with a look at the role of children in our families!

6B6A23A1E06E69BEB0124FAF2CA3C684

Leave a comment

