The Walking Dead

It’s a new month, which means a new article for Up in Cumming Magazine.  This month’s issue focuses on good health.  I put my own spin on it.  Let me know what you think!

walking deadZombies. Half-dead, half-alive. Not fully conscious. They are numb to the life around them, and their only purpose is to make through the day.

In Atlanta, we’re zombie-crazy since the hit TV show, The Walking Dead, is filmed here. I know several people who have donned their best zombie costumes and auditioned to be extras on the show. My husband records every episode, and I try to watch along with him, but honestly, it gets too gross for me. I’m such a wimp. Those zombies freak me out.

The truth is, however, I’ve been a zombie. No, I haven’t auditioned to be on the show. But, I have been half-dead.

Spiritually speaking.

Although I have experienced the life-changing grace of God, I will admit that I have lived through seasons when I grew numb to the excitement that I felt when I first met Him. I have, at times, been lulled into thinking that I’m ok because I’m busy doing good things even though I’m simply going through the motions. I have excused behavior that dishonors the God I claim to serve. I have rationalized my actions. Ultimately, that line of thinking caused me to ignore or not hear the still, small voice of God in my life, and I missed lessons He wanted to teach or opportunities He placed before me. Spiritually speaking, I wasn’t fully alive. I was numb.

I have been a spiritual zombie….more than once.

Jesus has a warning for those of us who have been bitten by the zombie virus:

Revelation 3:1b-3 “I know all the things you do, and that you have a reputation for being alive—but you are dead. Wake up! Strengthen what little remains, for even what is left is almost dead. I find that your actions do not meet the requirements of my God. Go back to what you heard and believed at first; hold to it firmly. Repent and turn to me again. If you don’t wake up, I will come to you suddenly, as unexpected as a thief.”

I bet you have been a zombie at times, too, but let me encourage you. There IS more to life than going through the motions. There IS more to faith than a list of do’s and don’ts. There IS more to a relationship with God than checking church attendance off a list.

You CAN be fully alive. You CAN hear the voice of God. You CAN recognize His activity around you.

It might be as simple as reading the bible and going to church.  Or, maybe one-on-one time with a trusted friend could help jumpstart your spiritual life.  Whatever it is, this New Year make some changes to become spiritually healthy.

You don’t have to be a spiritual zombie. Wake up and come to life!

my signature

2 thoughts on “The Walking Dead

  1. Hi! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of
    volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche.

    Your blog provided us useful information to work on. You have done a extraordinary job!

    Like

Leave a comment

