Two Are Better Than One

Remember this post?  Well, I did it.

For nine weeks at the beginning of the year, I worked out with the amazing PINK Method routine, and achieved the goals I set for myself – I lost those nagging 5 pounds, ate healthier foods, and built up my endurance and strength.

To be sure, I didn’t work out everyday, though.  Often, daily commitments usurped my plan to exercise.  Ok, sometimes, it wasn’t daily commitments that got in the way. Sometimes, I just wanted to lay on the couch or sleep a little later.  I’ll even admit that if an unexpected appointment came up, I was secretly excited that I wouldn’t have time to work out.  Since I was doing the program alone, I could hit “pause” on the dvd player if the routine was too demanding or skip a day if I felt lazy.  Nevertheless, I probably completed 85% of the program.

Let me be clear, though.  I loved the PINK Method.  It was just very easy to give half-effort since I worked out alone.

Ok, fast forward to June.  My neighbor, Katie, wanted to workout with me and give PINK a try, so since June we have met in her den 6 days of the week to jump, lunge, stretch, push, pull, and lift.  6 days each week!! We haven’t missed a day.  We haven’t pressed pause.  We haven’t relented.  Oh, there have been days that we’ve both secretly wished the other would have to cancel, but no such luck.  We push each other to our limit.  We encourage each other.  And, we celebrate EVERY DAY when we finish the routine.

Like I said, I achieved basic results the first time around, but over the summer months I (and my hubby) have noticed even better changes.  Muscle tone, body shape, overall strength, and yes, even a smaller jean size! As it turns out, having a partner helped me tremendously!  Two really are better than one.

You want to know the best part? I have a new friend.  Over the summer, Katie and I have bonded.  Spending time together has forged a new friendship for both of us.  What might God do in our new friendship?  I don’t know, but I’m thankful for Katie.  I’m looking forward to many fun days ahead with her.

What about you? In what area of life could you use a helping hand?  Fitness? Discipleship? Cooking? Parenting? Overcoming a bad habit? Guarding your tongue? Conquering a fear?

Whatever it is, heed God’s Word.  Two are better than one.  Allow someone into your private world.  Confide in someone.  Give someone permission to challenge you.  In other words, make yourself accountable to a friend.

What have you got to lose?

Ecclesiastes 4:9-12 “Two people are better off than one, for they can help each other succeed.  If one person falls, the other can reach out and help. But someone who falls alone is in real trouble. Likewise, two people lying close together can keep each other warm. But how can one be warm alone? A person standing alone can be attacked and defeated, but two can stand back-to-back and conquer. Three are even better, for a triple-braided cord is not easily broken.”

2 thoughts on “Two Are Better Than One

Leave a comment

