Summer Break

Ahhh, Summer is here.  My kids are out of school, and we’re sleeping a little later in the mornings.  Ok, we still get up before 7AM, but that’s late for my family.  I’m sure we’ll stretch that out as the weeks of Summer go by.  We’ve already been playing at the pool and catching fire flies at night.  We’re watching movies and reading books, and we’re grilling some yummy dinners.  Best of all we’re spending more time with each other and with friends.

We’re being refreshed.

I need it.  I need to unplug and unwind.  I need some time with no deadlines or expectations.  Why? Because I’m tapped out.  I (and my family) pack our lives full during what I call the “ministry year” – August through May.  That’s not to say that ministry doesn’t take place in June and July, but the pace is slower, for sure.  But, from August to May speaking engagements, church ministries, writing deadlines, kids’ activities, appointments, leadership responsibilities, and church planting takes up every ounce of our time and energy.

And I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Yet, all work and no play drains me of creativity and stamina.  I physically feel it.  I emotionally feel it.

So, each Summer I take a break.  My family vacations, and we pull back from the demands of life, allowing God to replenish what we’ve used up.  And, something beautiful happens at the end of my break.  My energy returns.  New ideas flow through my mind.  Zeal marks my ministry and life.

So, SharpenHer will take a back seat for a little while.  I promise to return from time to time with a thought or two, but certainly not everyday.  I suspect you’ll be off your computer, too (at least I hope you are!), so neither of us will lose too much.  In a few weeks, I’ll be back in full swing.

In the meantime, check out some of these posts while I’m away.  Some good food for thought!

God Still Loves A Good Gift

Loud Whispers

The Answer Is A Question

Circle Of Influence

Happy Summer!

Leave a comment

