Lessons from Adele

We’ve been playing a lot of Adele in our car lately.  Rumor Has It and Rolling In the Deep are belted out  as we drive down the road.  (Don’t judge.  Chris Tomlin isn’t the only artist on my playlist.) 

I’m intrigued by this uber-talented girl.  She put out a fantastic album with heartfelt songs that tell the story of her own heartbreak.  I absolutely adore songs that reflect life, and her’s do.  What’s more, she had no idea just how fabulous she was until the Grammies earlier this year.  She won the night, to be sure.

But, just before the awards, Adele was interviewed by Vogue magazine and stated that she would soon take a break – a long one – to drop out of the spotlight for a while.  Check it out:

“I find it quite exhausting,” she says of being a singer. “It wears me out. And I have a tendency to think I am missing out on things.” Which is why, after the Grammys and after she makes up the last of the concerts that were canceled last year, she plans to go away for a long while.

Most successful pop stars these days, all but forced by their labels to produce albums at a frenzied pace, don’t have that luxury. But because Adele signed with the British indie label XL, which licenses her music to Sony, she is under no such obligation. In other words, she has the clout to do however she pleases, even if that means, as she says, “taking four or five years” to put out another record. 

In short, Adele was tired.  Quitting for a while seemed good.  Until the Grammies.  It’s amazing what a few accolades can do.  After her 6 Grammy statues, Adele released this statement:

“I’ve a few days off now, and then it’s the Brit Awards here at home and then I’m straight into the studio. BOYYAHH! 5 years? More like 5 days!”

Writing about her Grammy triumph, Adele also says, “Oh goodness!! I’m absolutely flabbergasted!…I keep having flashbacks to Sunday night. The most incredible night of my life. Thank you to you all, I am so overwhelmed, it’s the strangest feeling.”  She adds, “I was totally unprepared. Despite the phenomenal year, I swear I didn’t think I had any chance. All the categories were full of people I adore with brilliant songs, records and performances.”  Adele finishes by saying, “Thank you to everyone who enjoys my music…All of this is yours — the songs, the shows, the moments like this. Not that there’s any other moments like this one, but you get my drift… Ha!”

What changed things? Encouragement. Love. Compliments. Simply put: Adele felt good about WHO she was and WHAT she does.

What about you?  What about the people in your life?  What could some encouragement do for you and for them? Could it help you put one foot in front of the other?  Could it inspire you to dive head long into something that has been depleting your energy?  Parenting? Ministry? A job? Community service? A relationship?

Don’t underestimate the power of kind words.  Take some time today to spread the love and tell someone WHO they are and WHAT they do. Your words just might propel someone to greatness.

9 thoughts on “Lessons from Adele

  1. I too love Adel! My 3yr knows the whole CD and her fave is Rumor. Such a simple thing – giving a kind word, or encouraging saying to someone. too often we let those moments pass us buy. Thank you for the reminder and for showing that its just that simple to make a HUGE change in someones day/life

    Like

    • Thanks, Meredith! I experienced it again this morning. My 9 year old daughter had to present an oral report today and was a little nervous. I spent some time telling her what a good job she would do, how creative her report was, and how smart she was to put it together all by herself. Her face lit up, but more importantly, she went to school with confidence in her heart! Big or small, we ALL need encouragement!

      Like

      • That makes me happy. I bet she will rock her speech! As moms, we have their little worlds in our hands. We can build them up or unfortunately the opposite with just our words. My two oldest are 7 and 5. Occassionally, before they leave for school, I tell them a couple things I love about them. For example, I love how you Belive every word of the Bible. Then I write a “B” on the tip of their finger. I love how you Smile at everyone, and I write an “S” on the next finger. They love it. Once when they returned hom, my 7 yr old said, “MOm, can you write my initial again, I looked at it so much today it wore off.” 🙂 Makes my heart happy. Thanks, Tricia!

        Like

Leave a comment

