Wednesdays Are For Women: Relational Roots, by Lindsey Gerdes

Pastors’ wives (PW) and women in ministry are incredible sources of wisdom and creativity as they use their gifts in leadership and service. I highly value their insight, faithfulness, and diligent labor. That’s why I’m hosting Wednesdays Are for Women. Each week, we’ll hear from a different PW or ministry leader and gain her perspective on God’s activity on her ministry team, her local church, or the issues facing church leaders today.

Today, we’ll hear from Lindsay Gerdes from Revolution Church, Canton, Georgia.

This summer at Revolution Church my husband, Jason, taught a series on “Relational Roots” and how relationships with other believers propel us forward in our spiritual growth.  This series made me aware of how thankful I am for the “roots” in my life.  These people love Jesus, they encourage me, and they keep me grounded in TRUTH!

Healthy relationships with other believers should be able to point out something IN YOU that isn’t benefiting the Kingdom or yourself. The key is those relationships are built on Jesus with lots of give and take…with lots of encouragement…with lots of fun moments.  That way, when your “root” speaks some truth over your life, you can receive it. Sometimes it will be painful and sometimes it will be freeing…and if we receive it, then it will be beneficial to our spiritual growth.

I’m in a season of life/ministry that is more than I could have ever imagined. I am overwhelmed daily (in a great way) at the amount of ministry God has entrusted to Jason and me. I don’t take lightly the calling He has on my life.

Ministry can be very lonely at times…especially when your husband is the “Boss” (Lead Pastor).  But this is what I know for sure: GOD, in his PERFECT LOVE FOR ME has blessed me with relational roots that I simply am not worthy of, yet He saw fit to give me. These are women who pour their hearts out to God…ON MY BEHALF!  They encourage me, love me, hold my arms up when I am too weary to go on, they go to coffee with me, they work out with me, they shop with me, they watch my kids, they memorize scripture with me (they ask me if I have been in God’s word), they worship alongside of me, they call at the right moments, they discern how to minister to my family, they hug me, they go to the movies with me, they celebrate highs and cry in the lows…they are my roots…they are a tangible Jesus here on earth.   We do LIFE together!

There have been times over my 12 years of ministry that I have not had amazing roots…and in those moments I begged God for TRUE friendships…and over the last several years he has brought a harvest out of those moments of tears!  Friendships are priceless.

It is crucial for Pastor’s wives to have TRUE, REAL, HONEST friendships.  Yet we sometimes steer away from those blessings because we have been burned in the past.  I believe God truly wants to give His daughters, who are serving in ministry, fruitful friendships and strong relational roots.

If you feel alone in ministry or you have a desire to connect with other women who are in ministry, then I want to encourage you to attend the Velocity 2012 Conference!  You will get connected to women who are passionate about Jesus, their husbands, their families, and His Church!  It is a conference that you DO NOT want to miss because it is an opportunity to grow “Relational Roots”!  Register today!

About Lindsey:

Lindsey is the wife of Jason Gerdes, Lead Pastor of Revolution Church in Canton, GA. Jason and Lindsey have been married for almost 10 years and have been in full-time ministry together for 12 years.  Lindsey is passionate about Jesus, her amazing husband, and her precious children, and thoroughly enjoys serving the people of their church. She desires for ministry wives to FULLY embrace their calling and THRIVE in the place God has placed them.

Leave a comment

