Sunday Summaries: Everyday Christmas, wk 3

This weekend at Mountain Lake Church was stellar.  We are in the middle of a teaching series to help us relate the miracle of Christmas to our everyday lives, and this weekend our entire church family got the picture…..and then some.

You see, our pastor challenged us to open our eyes WIDE to the world around us….to see that God loves everyone…..to understand that He wants His followers to show that same love to the hurting, broken, and helpless.

Our good friend, Peter Habyerimana, shared his story.  A street boy from Uganda, Peter could tell us firsthand just how helpless and broken life in an impoverished nation could be.  Because of the work of Compassion International, Peter eventually gained a roof over his head, food, and an education.  Now, he travels the world (all 52 weeks/year) to compel people like you and me to sponsor children like he once was.

Before one of our worship services, Peter and I were chatting.  He shared the overwhelming burden he feels.

“Today, I am the voice for 250 kids without hope.  I am speaking for children who have no food…..no dream for tomorrow.  I feel the burden of sharing their pain.”

I felt the burden through him.  Hearing his own story was heart wrenching.  I couldn’t imagine my own children facing what he has faced.  Thank God Compassion International provided a way out for him.

You’ve got to hear his story.  I’m not kidding.  Click here to watch it for yourself.

Oh, and those 250 broken, hopeless children? ALL of them have been sponsored by generous Christians at MLC.  Thank you, Mountain Laker’s!  The Lovejoy’s have a new addition, too!  Stella is her name, and I plan to share more about her in the weeks to come.

In the meantime, enjoy this week’s message, and look for ways today to show God’s compassion to the world around YOU!

2 thoughts on “Sunday Summaries: Everyday Christmas, wk 3

  1. Tricia,

    There are so many needy people it can sometimes be overwhelming, but God recently challenged me to give SOMETHING to every need I see when I’m out and about. I’m no longer ignoring those needs just because I can’t do something big. Something small is better than nothing at all.

    Have a Victorious Day!
    Marianne Clements

    Like

Leave a comment

