Wednesdays Are For Women: Wants and Needs

Pastors’ wives (PW) and women in ministry are incredible sources of wisdom and creativity as they use their gifts in leadership and service. I highly value their insight, faithfulness, and diligent labor. That’s why I’m hosting Wednesdays Are for Women. Each week, we’ll hear from a different PW or ministry leader and gain her perspective on God’s activity on her ministry team, her local church, or the issues facing church leaders today.

Today, I’m chiming in with a little suggestion for your Christmas list!

So my husband and I were out shopping recently when I happened upon a bigger-than-big sale on home accents at a furniture store.  I mean, huge.

$200 framed prints for $20.

$80 decorative lantern for $14.

B-I-G.

Shawn had been wandering around the store alone, but when he made his way back to the front he discovered me in the midst of a shopping binge.  I had made a rather large pile of all the items I was going to purchase (yes, I got every one of them), and he gave me the look.

You know the look.  One eyebrow raised with a questioning look in his eye.  I’m sure you’ve seen the same look from your spouse.

“I need these,” I said.

“Need….or want?” he asked.

Obviously, he failed to understand the vast amount of money I was about to save.

Alas, I had some Christmas money set aside, so I could buy my goodies whether they were wants or needs.  As a matter of fact, they were both.  I needed some items to replace older, worn out pieces in my home, and since I love creating a beautiful home, I wanted them, as well.  Yay for me.

The best kinds of gifts meet our needs and our wants.  Men, if you are looking for a great gift for your sweet wife for Christmas give her something she wants and needs.  She wants friendship and community.  She needs encouragement and spiritual growth.  She’ll get all of that at Velocity 2012.  We’re hosting a track especially designed for pastors’ wives to help them connect with other women who understand the journey of ministry, the loneliness it sometimes brings, and the challenge of pushing the limits of our leadership growth.  Few conferences offer anything like it.

She wants it.

She needs it.

Click here to get your shopping done early.  🙂

2 thoughts on “Wednesdays Are For Women: Wants and Needs

Leave a comment

