The Spirit of Christmas

Each month I write an article for a local magazine, Up In Cumming, and I like to share these articles with all of you, too.  This month’s issue was, of course, Christmas themed.  Check it out:

The spirit of Christmas is not really about the kids or the gifts or the pretty lights.  The true spirit of Christmas is love.

Sounds like a Hallmark card, doesn’t it?

It’s actually better than that.  Love is much more than a few emotional words on paper.  The very first Christmas night, God showed us what real love is when He gave us Jesus.  God showed unimaginable love to the world when He offered His Son to us.  To all of us – to the broken, to the unlovable, and to the unbelieving.  He extended love to us long before we could express the same to Him.  Yes, the gift of His Son literally modeled for us how we ought to love others.  That kind of love challenges me to take a closer look at my own relationships and ask myself if I am loving people the way God does.

* Do I love others with unconditional, unwarranted love?

* Do I love others generously and lavishly?

It’s always easier to hear a challenge like that and think of “other” people who ought to pay attention.  But, at some point we must take a look inward. Jesus said, “Love one another.  As I have loved you, so you must love one another.” (John 13:34)

I’ve been reminded lately that love – God’s kind of love – comes with a sacrifice.

Click here to continue reading…..

Leave a comment

