Girlfriends Review: Influencers

My husband and I have 3 kids, 12, 8, and 7.  My oldest often babysits for us when we have meetings or a date.  Typically, when we leave the kids at home we spell out specific instructions on what we expect them to do and not to do while we are away.  Sometimes, we’ll actually write out the instructions so they won’t forget what needs to be done.

Now, what do you think is the first thing Shawn and I do when we return home?  You got it: we check to see if they’ve done their list!

When Jesus lived on the earth, He, too, spent time teaching His followers what He expected them to do….how to live….how to love…..how to honor their Heavenly Father.  Just before He ascended into Heaven after His crucifixion, He gave His final instructions.  And, just like a parent would do before leaving their children at home, He explained what He expected them to do while He was away.  Take a look with me at His words:

Matthew 28: 18Jesus came and told his disciples, “I have been given all authority in heaven and on earth. 19 Therefore, go and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit. 20 Teach these new disciples to obey all the commands I have given you. And be sure of this: I am with you always, even to the end of the age.”

Essentially, Jesus was saying, God has put Me in charge of everything, so I have the authority to tell you what to do.  I have specific expectations of you so that my Father’s plan for humanity will be accomplished.  Here it is:  use your influence to teach other people about Me.  Tell them who I am.  Teach them about my love.  Teach them my commands so they can obey Me.  Nothing else is as important in your life as this.  If it were, I would certainly tell you now.  These are my final vocalized words to you…..this is important…..use your influence to help others know Me. 

If, as parents, Shawn and I check to see if our children have accomplished the tasks we assign to them, how much more do you think our Heavenly Father is checking to see if we, as His children, are accomplishing the tasks He assigns to us?  That’s good food for thought, friends.

Yesterday, I hosted the ladies of Mountain Lake Church at our monthly Girlfriends event, and we talked in great detail about WHO and HOW we can leverage our influence with people for the good of God’s Kingdom.

Are you a stay at home mom?  No, you are an influencer of children who will become fully devoted followers of Christ!

Do you work just to make a living or provide your family with insurance benefits? No, you are an agent of God in a world that needs integrity, Godly character, and grace.

Are you a leader in a civic group?  No, you are influencer who can leverage your position to change the way people think about God and His church!

Are you a weekly shopper in stores in our community?  No, you are a representative of God’s goodness and kindness as you interact with the people who see you every week!

It’s your turn.  Who can YOU influence?

2 thoughts on “Girlfriends Review: Influencers

  1. I needed to read this today! I am a stay at home mom and loved how you stated that I am influencing my boys in their faith. So, from now on, I will try to remember that I am “influencing”, not “nagging” umpteen times a day about stuff. And that it all has a PURPOSE! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

