Wednesdays Are For Women: We Are Not Single Soldiers by Brandi Wilson

Pastors’ wives (PW) and women in ministry are incredible sources of wisdom and creativity as they use their gifts in leadership and service. I highly value their insight, faithfulness, and diligent labor. That’s why I’m hosting Wednesdays Are for Women. Each week, we’ll hear from a different PW or ministry leader and gain her perspective on God’s activity on her ministry team, her local church, or the issues facing church leaders today.

Today, we’ll hear from Brandi Wilson, wife of Pete Wilson, of Cross Point Church in Nashville.  She has a message everyone in ministry should hear….and apply.

We Are Not Single Soldiers

We’ve all had one of those “It’s not personal” moments. You know, when you over hear something negative someone says about your church or your husband.

My most recent one occurred a few months back when I overheard a conversation of a few people who didn’t realize the pastor’s wife was following them out of the sanctuary after a service. My momma bear instincts kicked in and it took every ounce of restraint I had not to tap on their shoulder and gently say, “Do you know who I am?
Because if you did you’d save the conversation you’re having for your car!!!”

But being a lady I refrained from the tap and prayed for their poor souls as I watched them walk out the front doors… and they weren’t even criticizing my husband so imagine how defensive I can get when criticisms are directed toward him!

Oh, the battle of self-preservation!

There have been times in our ministry where I’ve spent more time worrying about how people would respond to something my husband said from stage than I’ve spent praying for God to move in people’s lives…to open their hearts.

Times I’ve considered sneaking out of town rather than fighting a hard battle that I know we’ve been called to fight.

Times I’ve allowed fear to drive my motives… rather than the battle for lost souls.

It’s at those times I have to stop and think, “Who is my enemy?” Are we fighting the elders, critical church members, wrong impressions? No, our enemy is the one who comes to kill, steal, and destroy!

There’s a verse that I’m learning to turn to in times of fear, in times of battle… and times when momma bear kicks in.

For I am the Lord, your God, who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you. Isaiah 41:13

We face no challenges alone. We fight no battles as a single soldier.

Come and build community with other Church Planters’ wives at Velocity 2012. The best way to do life and to do ministry is together. Take the opportunity to meet other Church Planters’ wives this February at Velocity, it’s a decision you won’t regret.

About Brandi:

Brandi Wilson has been a pastor’s wife for 15 years.  She’s married to Pete who’s the Senior Pastor at Cross Point Church in Nashville, Tennessee.  Cross Point was planted in the fall of 2002 and is a multi-site church. She is the co-leader of Leading and Loving It.  Pete and Brandi have three boys- Jett, Gage, and Brewer.  When Brandi isn’t wrangling boys she enjoys reading, hiking, social-networking, and spending time with friends.

3 thoughts on “Wednesdays Are For Women: We Are Not Single Soldiers by Brandi Wilson

  1. Great blog and a much needed reminder for us as Pastor’s wives! It’s so easy to get distracted from what we really need to be focused on. Thanks for sharing! My husband and I are looking into coming to the Velocity conference. I saw some info through Leading and Loving It and it looks great.

    Like

  2. well said, Brandi! (how many times have i bitten my tongue in the presence of people who either didn’t know i was right behind them or assumed that a pdub doesn’t have ears!!)

    Like

Leave a comment

