Discover Your Best Look

Each month I write an article for a local magazine, Up In Cumming.  This month’s issue highlighted a personal favorite: fashion.  Fall fashions to be more specific.  Of course, I had my own take on the subject.  Check it out:

I love a pair of good fitting jeans.  I always have.  Back in the day, Guess jeans were all the rage.  Everyone in my school had the familiar triangular logo on their back pocket.  Then, the boyfriend-style jeans came into fashion – oversized and baggy, like you had just borrowed a pair from your boyfriend’s closet.  In my college days, I owned a pair of ripped jeans that I scored from a thrift store.  They were the bomb.  All of my friends agreed.  In fact, I rarely got to wear them since my sorority sisters borrowed them from my dorm room closet quite often.  These days, I’m likely to slip on a pair of MEK’s.  Good fit.  Great with heels.  I simply feel good in those jeans.  When we feel good, we look good.

Most of us care what we look like, don’t we?  That’s why we stand in our closets and agonize over what to wear or bemoan our lack of options.  It’s not just the ladies who care, either.  These days, men show just as much creativity
as women in their clothes, shoes, and yes, even their hair products.  Sometimes, they give us girls a run for our money.  It’s true.  We all care about how we look….at least a little.

Did you know that God cares about how we look, too?  Oh, you might think I’m about to tell you to dress conservatively or to avoid certain styles.  I’m not.  God looks much deeper than your trendy hat or rolled up sleeves.  He cares about the way you present yourself, for sure, but He goes a step farther.  Check out Colossians chapter 3, verses 11-14:

“Since God chose you to be the holy people He loves, you must clothe yourselves with tenderhearted mercy, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience.  Make allowance for each other’s faults, and forgive anyone who offends you.  Remember, the Lord forgave you, so you must forgive others. Above all, clothe yourselves with love, which binds us all together in perfect harmony.”

My husband loves the way I look, just as every husband adores his wife.  But, he especially loves when I react to him with gentleness.  My children notice when I dress up, but they benefit much more when I clothe myself with patience.  When we extend mercy and grace to the people around us, when we offer forgiveness, or when we choose a humble attitude, we become truly beautiful….noteworthy….even breathtaking.

Go ahead.  Slip on your favorite pair of jeans.  Dive into the fall fashions with some new scarves and a cool new pair of shoes.  But, make sure you clothe yourself with love first.  Do more this fall than just look good.  Love well.  Then, and only then, will you be your absolute best.

Leave a comment

