Learning To Be Wise, week 2

This month the people of Mountain Lake are reading one chapter of Proverbs each day.  We’re learning to be wise.  Do you know what wisdom is?  Check it out:

Wisdom: The ability to discern or judge what is true, right, or lasting; insight.

God’s Word is the only tool we need to develop wisdom in our decision-making.  Not advice from our best friend.  Not Dr. Phil.  And, certainly not what “seems” right to us.  There’s one place to learn how to discern what is true or right: The Bible.

So, this week we’re reading chapters 8-14 in Proverbs.  Here are some of my highlights so far:

Proverbs 10:19 “Too much talk leads to sin.  Be sensible and keep your mouth shut.”  Lesson: Let your words be few.  Think before you speak.

Proverbs 10:25 “When the storms of life come, the wicked are whirled away, but the godly have a lasting foundation.”  Lesson: Storms WILL come.  Rain will fall on the just as well as the unjust.  When the storms come and the rain falls, the Godly (those who love and serve Him) will not be swept away.  God promises a firm foundation for my life.

Proverbs 11: 12 “It is foolish to belittle one’s neighbor; a sensible person keeps quiet.”  Lesson: Don’t stir up trouble with those closest to me!  Be a peace-maker, not a trouble-maker.

Proverbs 11:14  “Without wise leadership, a nation falls; there is safety in having many advisers.”  Lesson: Seeking wise counsel from Godly people serves me well.  God uses other Christians to see my blind sides and warn me of danger.  He also uses them to guide me toward Him.  Seeking wisdom from those who walk with Jesus is a key to my success.

Proverbs 11:25 “The generous will prosper; those who refresh others will themselves be refreshed.”  Lesson: A DIRECT PROMISE FROM GOD!  When I serve others, God will renew and refresh me.  He sees my generosity.  When He calls me to serve or give, I will do it wholeheartedly because I can trust that He will renew me.  Because of this verse, I willingly use myself up for His glory!

Are you reading along with us?  I’d love to know what you are learning, too.  Drop me a line (email, FB, Twitter, or a comment below).  Let’s get wise together!

2 thoughts on “Learning To Be Wise, week 2

Leave a comment

