The Life I’ve Always Wanted

My mind is still swirling with the message my husband taught this past weekend at Mountain Lake.  He taught us that God’s blessings are in direct relationship to our obedience.  In other words, if we obey, He’ll bless.  As I sat in the worship service, the Holy Spirit kept taking my mind to Psalm 1.  It paints a beautiful picture of the life God will give us, if only we’ll follow Him.

Blessed is the one who does not walk in step with the wicked or stand in the way that sinners take or sit in the company of mockers, but whose delight is in the law of the LORD, and who meditates on his law day and night.  That person is like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither— whatever they do prospers. Psalm 1: 1-3

I’ll never forget the first time I studied this passage.  I was listening to Henry Blackaby (he wrote the amazing Experiencing God study) speak at a mini-conference.  He read these verses slowly, allowing them to sink into my heart.  Whereas I had brushed over these verses before, now they painted a vivid picture in my mind.

Oh, the promises of God.  Oh, the benefits only He can give.

I wanted my life to be like a tree planted by streams of water – nourished, full, healthy.

I wanted my life to yield fruit in season.  I wanted spiritual fruit as God used me to reach others for Him.  I wanted the fruit of His Spirit.  I wanted a healthy marriage and family.  I wanted His wisdom and understanding.  I wanted my life to yield fruit!

I never wanted a withering leaf to represent my life – dry, brittle, falling away from the vine.

And, I wanted to prosper.  Not in the financial sense.  Rather, I longed to see the work of my hands – my ministry, my endeavors, my plans – be touched by God so they would succeed.

Who wouldn’t want that life?!  I went home that day and studied some more.  I highlighted my Bible and wrote in my journal.  I prayed for God to always capture my heart like that.  And, I prayed that I would follow His ways so that those blessings could be mine.

Those blessings can be yours, too.  Friend, if you will obey, He will plant your life by streams of water, nourish you, make you fruitful and prosperous.  Nothing you could ever do for yourself could ever make you as prosperous as God can.

Leave a comment

