God Still Loves a Good Gift

Recently, I was reading in the book of Numbers about the offerings God required from His people.  I discovered I’m more like God than I realized…..I love a getting gifts, too.  As a matter of fact, my hubby returns from Africa tomorrow, and I’m hoping he has a little something in his suitcase for me.  But, I digress.  God instructed His people to make offerings to Him.  Lot of them.  There were daily offerings, weekly offerings, monthly offerings, and several different yearly offerings.  Lots of offerings.

Life in 2011 looks vastly different for us Christians.  We don’t sacrifice animals to atone for sin or bring flour with oil as a symbol of worship and thankfulness.  But, one thing remains the same: our need to bring an offering to God – often.

What will be your offering to God today? This week?  Will you provide for someone’s need out of love for God?  Will you serve in His House out of gratitude for all He has given to you?  Will you give the tithe as He commanded?  Will you bring a repentant heart?  Or, maybe you’ll give something up on Christ’s behalf to show your commitment to Him.

These aren’t simply tasks you perform.  They are acts of worship – offerings to our Heavenly Father to speak love and thankfulness to Him.  Oh, but it’s more than even that.  Worship – our response to the overwhelming love and grace of God – is lived out as we offer our lives to Him…offer our service…offer our schedule…offer our resources.  Worship is not checking something off the “to-do” list.  It’s not viewing your volunteer service at church as a job.  And, it’s certainly not something done out of habit.  Bringing an offering to God stems out of a thankful heart.

So, that’s what God talked to me about the other day.  Then, I heard this song.  God has a unique way of putting the period at the end of a sentence.  I pray God uses it to inspire YOU to bring many offering of thanksgiving and praise to the One who set you free.  Click the link to listen.

Offering by Third Day

Magnificent Holy Father

I stand in awe of all I see

Of all the things You have created

But still You choose to think of me

And who am I that You should suffer

Your very life to set me free

The only thing that I can give You

Is the life You gave to me

This is my offering, dear Lord

This is my offering to You, God

And I will give You my life

For it’s all I have to give

Because You gave Your life for me

I stand before You at this altar

So many have given You more

I may not have much I can offer

Yet what I have is truly Yours

This is my offering, dear Lord

This is my offering to You, God

2 thoughts on “God Still Loves a Good Gift

Leave a comment

