Road Trip Down Memory Lane: Learning To Sit

In honor of all the vacations and day trips many of us will take this summer, I thought I’d take us all on a road trip of my own.  A road trip down my own Memory Lane of verses that God has used in my life.  Don’t get me wrong – all Scripture is valuable and useful.  But, this week I want to share a few verses that are special to me.  I’ll tell you why they’re special, what God taught me, and how they’ve changed my life.

Today and tomorrow, I’m going to share some verses about relationships.  No, not the Lifetime movie kind.  The “we were created to live in healthy community together” kind.  First up, a lesson from the book of Job.

Even if you’ve never read it for yourself, you’re probably familiar with the fact that Job had suffered losses.  Tragic ones.  They weren’t his fault, and for a long time he had no answers.  But, he did have friends.  And, although his friends spent quite a bit of time trying to convince Job the tragedies were a result of his own sin (wrong, by the way), they did one thing that we could all learn from.

Job 2:13  “They sat on the ground with him for seven days and seven nights. No one said a word to him, because they saw how great his suffering was.”

No one said a word.  They simply felt his pain.

I don’t know about you, but I’ve sat with friends when one of us is struggling in some way and been amazed at how quickly advice from everyone flows.  Or, when my husband or I have a problem, we are tempted to jump in with a quick-fix for each other.  But, you know as well as I do that often we don’t want someone to fix us.  We simply want a friend to listen.  Shawn and I tell each other, “Don’t fix it.  Just be on my team for a little while.”  Make sense?

Job’s friends were on his team for seven days.  They didn’t advise him or correct him or offer him some pat answer like, “God has a plan.”  They were quiet.  They mourned with him and felt his pain. 

There’s a lesson for us in there.  We often want to fix, when instead we should just sit. 

That’s another lesson worth noting, huh?

 

 

One thought on “Road Trip Down Memory Lane: Learning To Sit

Leave a comment

