Road Trip Down Memory Lane: Hearts Of Stone

In honor of all the vacations and day trips many of us will take this summer, I thought I’d take us all on a road trip of my own.  A road trip down my own Memory Lane of verses that God has used in my life.  Don’t get me wrong – all Scripture is valuable and useful.  But, this week I want to share a few verses that are special to me.  I’ll tell you why they’re special, what God taught me, and how they’ve changed my life.

Have you ever dealt with someone whose heart was so hard towards God that you felt they were a hopeless case?  Maybe it was a family member, your spouse, or a dear friend.  Or, maybe someone a bit more distant, like an acquaintance or colleague.  I have certainly crossed paths with people like that.  The closer I am to them, the more my heart breaks for their lack of belief in the One True Hope.

When I read the following verse, I grabbed my highlighter and went to town making note of it.  Here it is:

Ezekiel 36:26  “I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh.”

When I read Ezekiel 36, I clung to the hope of what my God could do.  He could change hearts!  Even the hardest ones.  Although Scripture is full of stories of softened hearts, I was eager to see God turn a heart of stone into a heart of flesh for myself.  Now that I’ve served Him in ministry for 16 years, I can say I’ve witnessed it time and again.

A man who walked out on God and church 46 years ago and swore he would never come back is now serving and loving Jesus each week.

An atheist who considered religion a crutch for other people is now brokenhearted over the years he lost denying God. 

A spouse who never came to church because he thought it was a waste of time now leads his family spiritually.

Maybe you are broken-hearted over someone’s hard heart and their lack of belief.  Know this: Our God is in the heart-changing business!  Nothing is too difficult for Him.  No heart is beyond His reach.  Keep praying.  Keep loving.

And, keep believing.

Leave a comment

