Finishing Well

Yesterday was the last day of the school year for my kids.  It was also the finale of American Idol, which my family watches every week.  And, how could we miss that it was also Oprah’s big farewell, too?  Yep, a day of endings.

Do you know what I noticed?  They all finished well.  My kids – all of them – made outstanding grades and received high compliments from their teachers.  Scotty and Lauren (yes, I’m on a first name basis with them since I spend time with them every week) reaped the rewards of their diligence over the past year and stood in the spotlight in front of millions on American Idol.  Dream come true.  And, Oprah wrapped up 25 years of The Oprah Winfrey Show with an entire season of surprises and celebrations.  No matter your view of her, you must admit she is stellar at what she does.

Finishing well is its own reward.  To know you’ve done your job in a spectacular fashion….to know you’ve improved…..to know you’ve impacted people…..that’s fulfilling.  And, it’s my dream.  No, not to get good grades or sing for millions (insert my husband’s grateful sigh here), but to finish well.  My passion is to influence people for Jesus, and I pray at my life’s end my Father can say, “Well done.”  Confetti doesn’t need to fall.  I don’t need the keys to a new car.  I don’t need the accolades of millions.  I crave the smile of my Father. 

And, so I try to live by this challenge:  “Fight the good fight for the true faith. Hold tightly to the eternal life to which God has called you, which you have confessed so well before many witnesses. (1 Tim 6:12) so I will hear my Father say, “‘Well done, my good and faithful servant. You have been faithful in handling this small amount, so now I will give you many more responsibilities. Let’s celebrate together!’ (Matt. 25:23)

Finish well, my friends.  Work hard, learn and grow, and finish well. 

3 thoughts on “Finishing Well

  1. My dream too…always knowing that I’m living for eternity & to try hard not to get caught up in the “now”. “What I do now echoes in eternity”.

    Love your post!

    Like

Leave a comment

