Sunday Summaries: Joy Ride Week 2

Ok, I admit it.  I’m a backseat driver.  I confess I tell my husband to slow down and stop tailgating.  I even try to point out how pretty the yellow lines on the pavement are so he won’t be distracted by the scenery passing by.  I’ll even make a bigger confession.  I often call dibs on driving just so I can be the one in control.  Nothing against Shawn….I just trust my driving more. 😉  Hey, don’t throw stones.  I bet you are the same way. Most of us like to be in control.  To be the one taking the risk or playing it safe.  To be the one to decide if we stay or go.  If we’re honest, we would all admit we like to be in the driver’s seat – literally and figuratively.

Shawn made some eye-opening parallels of that scenario to our spiritual lives as he continued our latest message series yesterday.  He continued teaching us about the apostle Paul’s life out of the book of Philippians.  Bottom line?  Paul was not in the driver’s seat of his life; Christ was. So, what does that have to do with joy, you ask?  Everything.  To experience true joy, we must surrender control of our lives.  Sounds like a contradiction, doesn’t it?  After all, we know what’s best for us, right?  We know what will bring us happiness and contentment, right?  And, we certainly don’t want to be taken advantage of, or required to do something that makes us uncomfortable.  So, how is it possible that surrendering control of our lives could bring us joy?  Well, it’s just the upside down way that Jesus works. 

Let me give you the cliff notes version. 

Step #1:  Trust.  When we become followers of Jesus, we set Him up to be the Leader of our lives.  In other words, we give Him our driver’s license and put Him in the driver’s seat of our lives.  We agree to trust Him to take care of us and use us for His purposes – which, by the way, is the only way to find true contentment.  If we hop back into the driver’s seat, we simply have a trust issue. 

Step #2: Peace.  When we trust Jesus, Scripture promises that peace – peace that can’t be explained….peace despite our circumstances…..peace you cannot experience any other way – will literally guard our hearts and minds.  Powerful promise, right?  Philippians 4:7 clearly spells it out. 

TRUST + PEACE = JOY

Ultimately, if we’ll trust Jesus, He’ll guard our hearts and minds, resulting in joy – a constant sense of fulfillment and purpose. 

Hey, there’s no deeper truth than that!  That’s meaty stuff.  Those words are so easy to type, but let me tell you it’s not easy to live out.  I often put myself back in the driver’s seat.  I even tell Jesus where we should be going and how to get us there.  Old habits die hard. 

Want to hear more of the message?  Or, better yet, do you want to hear the story of how Shawn was once arrested?  Click here to listen for yourself. 

One thought on “Sunday Summaries: Joy Ride Week 2

Leave a comment

