Chocolate Bunnies

Well, peeps, Easter is just around the corner, and if you have kids, you are likely plotting Easter basket surprises.  Kids everywhere are anticipating what might be in their basket on Sunday morning.  I know moms who make “Summer Time Baskets” full of flip-flops, beach towels, and pool toys.  Others make fruit baskets, and still others fill the baskets full of candy.  Some families go for themed baskets, while others just grab whatever is on sale at Wal-Mart (don’t knock it till you try it!). 

I’m no different.  I love a good Easter Basket full of treats.  We always go for “goodies with a purpose.”  Cd’s from popular Christian artists, age appropriate devotion books, Christian bracelets, and journals are the star attractions of our baskets, although Phineas and Ferb cd’s and Easter apparel have been known to make an appearance.  And, of course, tons of chocolate filled plastic eggs.  What’s Easter without chocolate?  But not those stinking chocolate bunnies.  Those things are deplorable.  They never taste good.  Nope, the Lovejoy’s stick with Reese’s….God’s chocolate. 

So, what about you?  Do you make Easter Baskets?  If you do, what are you putting in them? 

14 thoughts on “Chocolate Bunnies

  1. Christy Massey says:

    I love the devotional idea(s)…..I’ll have to remember that when I’m out this week doing my shopping. The Massey’s are usually filled with a bathing suit, flip flops and Reece’s Eggs (the kids fav). But just an FYI: The DOVE & Lindt brand Chocolate Bunnies MELT IN YOUR MOUTH. Heavenly to say the least! Happy Easter! I love you.

    Like

    • Christy, yes, I had some Lindt chocolates not long ago, hence the extra 5 pounds. I enjoyed them a little too much! My goal this Easter: let the kids eat the chocolate before I get my grimy hands on it. 🙂 Love you, too!

      Like

  2. MaryKay Wood says:

    We love love baskets around here! Every year is a little different. This year thanks to having a 15 yr old boy, 2 12 yr old boys and a 10 yr old girl in the mix I’m planning a little emphasis on personal higene. Axe is horrid but way better than body odor so though it’s more than a little odd to mix deoderant, body wash, sprays and tooth brushes with chocolate it will be sure to be a crowd pleaser. Love the idea of a summer basket too. Maybe, I can make deoderant, flip flops and chocolate co-exsist! We will have to see.

    Happy Easter,
    MaryKay

    Like

  3. Noelle says:

    The Lindt chocolate bunnies are great!
    My little guy is only 3 so this year he is getting candy, bubbles, a christian book and a train. I also fill baskets for my parents. They get homemade goodies. I love Easter baskets.

    Like

  4. Angie Decker says:

    I personally don’t make baskets each year, my mother-in-law does that. However my kids still expect to hunt plastic easter eggs filled with candy. So I guess I will be stuffing plastic eggs and hiding them so they can hunt for them this weekend. My kids are 13 & 11.

    Like

  5. Tammy Brown says:

    Hi Tricia, when the kids were little~ I didn’t like the tons of candy deal~ so I started the tradition of filling their baskets with all the summer stuff ( that’s I’d be buying them anyways)… this included (we’re from California mind you) new bathing suit, flip flops, pool/beach toys, sunscreen, sunglasses, gum etc. Now the girls can’t wait to see what will be in there. My 14 year old has to try hers on in advance these days so we got it together the past 2 years and then I held onto it and stuffed in there.

    Another fun tradition we do it… I make a photo scavenger hunt in plastic eggs… the pics are of places around the house or yard… one photo leading to the next egg with the next photo etc…. and at the end~ is their basket!
    Blessings to you!
    Happy Easter! HE IS RISEN:)

    Tammy Brown

    Like

Leave a comment

