Loud Whispers

I love the way God speaks.  He’s so soft-spoken, yet so loud.

He uses circumstances in my life to remind me of what’s important or confirm a task He has for me.  He often speaks through other people to encourage or challenge me.  When I’m praying, I often sense Him guiding my thoughts or emotions.  Some of my most powerful moments with God haven’t been in worship services or revivals, they’ve been in my private prayer life.  God also speaks – consistently – through the Bible.  Yep, while I read Scripture each morning, God never fails to remind me, caution me, convict me, comfort me, teach me,….speak to me.  In all of these ways, God quietly speaks to me.  But, here’s the loud part: He often coordinates all of these ways to speak to me all at once.

Like, this week.  Sunday’s message at MLC was all about our great need to give and show love.  God whispered to my heart how important love is.  I was recently reminded of the consequences a Believer faces when we fail to love God with all of our heart.  As I watch this friend struggle through the aftermath of his sin, I remember how important it is to keep my eyes on Jesus.  I’ve also been reading through Kay Warren’s book, Say Yes To God.  God used her words to remind me that my service to God and people should be based on my love for and humble submission to my Lord.  And, then this morning, I read these verses:

1 John 3:18-19 “We know what real love is because Jesus gave up his life for us. So we also ought to give up our lives for our brothers and sisters.  Our actions will show that we belong to the truth, so we will be confident when we stand before God.”

John 13:35 “By this everyone will know you are My disciples, if you love one another.”

So, God is teaching me about love this week…this season in my life.  Why?  I’m not sure, yet.  But, I’m taking it all in.  I’m writing down what He says.  I’m connecting the dots.  I’m positive I’ll need this lesson in the future, and I’m going to be ready for what God requires of me.

I don’t know if you ever sense God speaking to you, but I know He does.  He quietly whispers to all of us all the time.  And, if you learn to connect the dots between your prayer life, your Scripture reading, and your circumstances, those whispers will get very loud.

What about you?  What is God teaching you these days?  Are you listening?

One thought on “Loud Whispers

  1. Sheila Wiggins says:

    Trish, thank you so much for sharing your heart with us. You have no idea how much you challenge and encourage me through your posts. Keep up the good work!

    Like

Leave a comment

