Sunday Summaries: All You Need Is Love

A few weeks ago, Shawn and I had dinner with a friend who told us that he had Prosopagnosia.  Sounds serious, doesn’t it?  In its most extreme cases, it can be, but he isn’t one of those cases.  Want to know what it is?  Facial blindness.  Ever heard of it?  It’s the inability to remember what people look like.  People who struggle with it may not recognize a friend with a different hairstyle or if they are in an unexpected location.  Or, in extreme cases, they won’t remember people from one day to the next.

Ok, here’s the funny part.  After he explained Facial Blindness to us, Shawn and I immediately looked at each other on full alert.  I could have this crazy disorder!!  I’m constantly asking Shawn what someone’s name is, someone I’m supposed to know!  I don’t readily recognize acquaintances if they change their hairstyle.  If someone loses a lot of weight, I won’t know who they are right away.  When we watch movies, I occasionally have to ask Shawn who a particular character is.

Now, being the Pastor’s wife at a large church, this can be a problem.  I might ignore people out in the community that I’m supposed to know.  And, I meet tons of new people each week….people I probably won’t recognize again unless I get to know them.  You’ve heard the phrase, “I never forget a face”?  Yeah, that’s not me.

According to the online test I took, I don’t really have Prosopagnosia.  I scored 85% – above average, which means I recognize people better than most do.  Drat.  I was hoping I would have a good excuse for not remembering people.  Looks like I just have to work harder.  But, the whole experience got my husband thinking.  There IS a blindness that we ALL suffer from.  One that is far more important.

Love Blindness – an inability to remember God’s most important command for our lives.

Matthew 22: 37-40 (NLT) Jesus replied, “You must love the LORD your God with all your heart, all your soul, and all your mind.  This is the first and greatest commandment.  A second is equally important: Love your neighbor as yourself.  The entire law and all the demands of the prophets are based on theses two commandments.”

Do you have Love Blindness?  Do you get caught up with your tasks and agenda and forget that love is all your really need?  Do you measure your success and worth by your accomplishments and possessions?  Do people ever “get in the way” of your ability to complete your agenda?  Do you ever get caught up in religious activity simply out of habit?  If you answered yes to any of those questions, you probably have it.  But, there’s a cure, and my husband talked about it as we kicked off our latest message series at MLC yesterday.

I couldn’t more highly recommend that you watch this week’s message and open your eyes to something that you might have become blind to.  Love.  Loving God and loving people.  It’s that simple.  Don’t measure your worth, significance, or value by ANYTHING other than God’s standard – love.

Want to dive a little deeper on this topic?  Click here to watch the message this week or download the free  Mountain Lake Church podcast and listen while you work.  You might just see clearly for the very first time.

One thought on “Sunday Summaries: All You Need Is Love

  1. Angie Decker says:

    It was a great message and definatly one that I will listen to again this week. I am looking forward to a great discussion about the message with my growth group this week. I love being a part of Mountain Lake and learning all there is to know about Gods love for me and the love I have inside myself that I need to share with others.

    Like

Leave a comment

