Sunday Summaries: Radiate

Yesterday, my husband continued our message series, RADIATE, at MLC.  If you are tracking along, you’ll remember our definition of radiate: to emit light and energy in a given direction.  For those of us who follow Christ, that means we use our lives to point people to Him. 

Have you ever felt overwhelmed with that task, though?  I have.  I mean, how can I measure up to that?  How can I be an adequate conveyor of just how good, righteous, and forgiving God really is?  How can I display His power and holiness?  I’m just, well, me.  I know my faults and weaknesses.  I know my imperfections.  I know my selfish tendencies.  So, how can I radiate for God?  Well, check out 2 Corinthians 4:6-7:

“For God, who said, “Let light shine out of darkness,” made His light shine in our hearts to give us the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Christ.  But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us.”

Did you catch it?  We don’t have to measure up to that unattainable standard!  God actually took care of that for us.  You see, when we make Jesus our personal Leader and Forgiver, He inhabits our hearts and lives.  Then He lives through us.  As we submit ourselves to Him and He gains control, He shines – radiates – through our lives.  He knows we are weak vessels – jars of clay that are easily broken and discarded and have many imperfections.  Yet, He chooses to use us because in our weakness, He shines through.  When God chooses to use me to do something for Him, a watching world will know that God is at work. 

So, today I’m celebrating all that God has done in and through me.  He has chosen to use me despite my flaws and failures, despite my fears, despite my broken promises, and, at times, despite my lack of faith.  He has used me to teach others how to pray.  He has used me to lead some to Him.  He has used me to disciple many.  He has used me to encourage people’s faith.  He has used me to start a church.  He has used me to comfort friends.  He has used me to teach my kids about His great love.  He has used me to support and love my husband.  He has used me to display His love and power to the people in my life.  WOW!  That is so amazing if you know who I really am – a simple jar of clay.  Even on my best day, I pale in comparison to my astounding Father and Lord.

What about you?  How is God shining through your clay jar?

You can listen to Shawn’s full message here this week, or in the MLC archives after that.

Leave a comment

