Building Modern Altars

Deuteronomy 4:9  “But watch out!  Be very careful never to forget what you have seen the Lord do for you. Do not let these things escape from your mind as long as you live.  And be sure to pass them on to your children and grandchildren.”

I’ve been a believer now for 27 years.  That’s a lot of bible studies, prayers, church services, mountaintops and valleys, and life lessons.  I know my Father through His Word, but I also know Him through my experiences.  But, you know what?  Many of those experiences, answered prayers, and life lessons would be long forgotten without my trusty journal.  In it, I take note of verses that God uses in my life, I write down key truths that I know He’s teaching me, and I record my prayers….and His answers.  And, now, I’m able to read back through many of my old journals and remember what God has done in and through me, my family, and my church. 

In the Old Testament, God was pretty keen on the Israelites remembering what He had done for them.  He required them to build altars to memorialize His activity.  I guess He figured that if they remembered His faithfulness in the past, they would have more faith in the future.  He’s pretty wise like that. 

Here’s a quick inside peek at my version of an altar, my journal: (no, you don’t get to read what I write, but you do get to see the outline!):

 About six days each week, I read my bible (and maybe an accompanying study tool) and then I journal my thoughts.  I usually write down which Scripture passage I’ve read, what my biggest takeaway was, and what action steps I ought to take. Then, I pray.  Sometimes I write out my prayer.  You see, by writing down the lessons God is teaching me, I’m much more likely to remember them.  And my “remembering” helps my faith remain strong….helps me persevere in trying times…..keeps me grounded in successful times……keeps my focus on God, not on me.  What’s more is that my children will be able to read these journals some day, and their faith will be strengthened, too.  A Godly legacy is the best inheritance I can offer them.

So, there you have it.  My plan for spiritual growth.  Nothing fancy.  No intense bible drills.  Just consistent time with God with a book and a pen.  Don’t overcomplicate your spiritual life!  Just spend some time with Him…and take some notes!

Leave a comment

