Are You Good Enough?

At our Churchplanters.com conference last year, Velocity 2010, I heard this song for the first time.  I was just about to speak to a group of Pastor’s Wives in a small group session.  As I always am before I speak, I was nervous and trying to focus my heart and mind on Jesus rather than my fears.  Not fears of speaking on behalf of Jesus.  That’s my honor.  No, just the typical fears of screwing up, losing my train of thought, looking foolish,….you know, the basic fears we all have regarding what others think of us. Not to mention, I was battling strep throat and a sinus infection, complete with steroids that were making me sick.  Needless to say, my nerves were building. 

As I sat in the first main session of Velocity 2010, I was praying and asking God to use me in spite of my silly nerves, fears, and inadequacies.  Just then Anthony Evans took the stage and sang a song just for me.  God used the lyrics to change my perspective and remind me that I am just His vessel; He’ll do the work.  I don’t have to be THE BOMB!  He is.

Want to hear it for yourself?  Click here to listen.

Hold on you got the wrong guy
And I’m wondering why you don’t seem to see
The job at hand needs a better man
But for some crazy reason you’re calling me
Overwhelmed and under prepared
It’s written on my face I’m scared
Then I hear you call out to me.

You don’t have to be good enough
This love is for free and it’s more than enough
I’ll be your strength in all you say and all you do
My Love will make you
Good enough

You don’t have to be capable
Just be available to follow where I lead
Whatever, whenever, wherever oh you’ll
Never believe all the things you can do through me
So when this big world makes you feel small
Hold your head up high and walk tall
Cause this is where the good news begins

Blessed are the poor they will inherit the earth
And the weak they will find their true worth
He said come all you weary come get closer to me

you don’t have to be good enough

Are you trying to accomplish things in your own power?  Are you trying to measure up or be good enough to win the approval of others?  Rest in the truth of this song, my friends.  You don’t have to be able.  Just be available.

One thought on “Are You Good Enough?

  1. Tricia,
    Good word this morning! I often find myself trying to do things my way. God has proven time and time again that if I make myself available to Him He will make mountains move. Thanks for the reminder. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

