Sunday Summaries: The Evolution Of Me

Have you ever been stuck on stupid?  Lately, I have.  It seems every time I’m leaving my house, I go through the same routine: grab my coat and keys, lock the doors, pet the dog, and pick up my Iphone.  But, I can’t find my phone, so I make all 3 kids get back out of the car to help me search.  I’ve even had my oldest daughter use her phone to call mine in an effort to locate it.  This is where “stupid” comes in.  Every time Hannah calls my phone, my pocket rings.  Every time.  My phone is inevitably in one of my pockets – pants, vest, coat, whatever.  Ok, so my kids are getting very annoyed with this routine.  Actually, it’s become so comical that we do that laugh where you make no sound.  You know what I’m talking about?  Yeah, that one.  Just this Saturday I was in a rush to take the kids to a birthday party and sent Hannah upstairs to grab my phone which I was sure was on my nightstand.  I promise you that she was no more up the stairs than I realized my phone was in my pocket.  I started to call Hannah back, but this was the 9th time I’ve made this mistake, and I couldn’t hold back my laughter.  Hannah heard my guffaws and marched back to me with a disgusted look on her face.  “Is it in your pocket, Mom?”  Yes, as it turns out I’m stuck on stupid.

Have YOU ever been stuck on stupid?  That’s not my question.  It’s my husband’s.  He asked it yesterday at MLC as he continued our latest message series, and he meant it on a deeper level.  You know, “stuck on stupid” – stuck in the middle of a habit, hiccup, hangup, or addiction.  In other words, sin.  Maybe you are right now.  Why is that?  Why do we sometimes continue in a pattern of behavior that leaves us feeling empty and unsatisfied? I’ll tell you why.  Because we believe the lie that “one more” will give us the fix that we need…..the result that we want…..the feeling we desire…..the satisfaction that we long for.  Do you relate at all?  One more swipe of a credit card, one more drink or pill, one more lustful look, one more angry response, one more bite of comfort food…..somehow we think that one more time will finally fix our situation.  Behind every sin is the idea that this time will fix me. 

Jesus had something to say to those of us stuck on stupid.  Check out Matthew 5:6:

“Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.”

Let me break it down for you.  If you want to break out of the “stuck on stupid” cycle, you have to admit that “one more” is never going to get you where you want to go.  Instead,  Jesus said that if you’ll hunger for righteousness (doing right and being right) then you would find ultimate satisfaction. 

So, what do you believe?  Do you believe “one more” can give you satisfaction?  Or, do you believe The One can give you satisfaction?  Dozens of people took a stand yesterday at MLC and made Jesus their Leader and Forgiver….and their Satisfaction.  Maybe you are one of them.  If you want to hear more of the incredible message God spoke through my husband, you can listen here this week or in the MLC archives after that.  You don’t want to miss this one.

Leave a comment

