Confessions of a Pastor’s Wife: Admiting My Secrets

Have you ever noticed that it’s easier to confess your sins to God than it is to confess them to another person? 

God promises to forgive and forget.

God gives second (and third and fourth) chances.

God doesn’t blab to untold numbers of people.

And, God doesn’t withhold His love or acceptance.

We mere humans struggle a bit in every one of these areas!  We are apt to judge each other’s weaknesses and assume the worst things about someone else.  Let’s just admit it: we don’t often respond like God does to sin.  He forgives and forgets.  We make judgements and hold on to our memories.  Oh, to be more Christ-like.  But, God encourages us to confess our sins to each other because He knows that in our confession we will find accountability to overcome our struggle.

So, in the vein of being transparent, I have a confession for you today.  Up until a year and a half ago, I had never fasted longer than one day.  That may not be mind-blowing for some of you, but, I’ve walked with our Lord for a long time, I’ve studied the Scriptures, and I know fasting is something Jesus talked about.  Nevertheless, I’ve always had a good excuse for avoiding this not-so-attractive discipline, or so I thought.

Less than two years ago, my hubby challenged all of us at MLC to a 7 day fast.  As sure as I’m typing this post, God called me to participate.  I felt Him move my spirit and place within me a desire, no, a drive, to fast.  I wanted to spend extended time in prayer for our Ministry Team and our church and I wanted to express my seriousness to God.  So, without much more of a plan than that, I began.  Over the next few days, I’ll share what I discovered during my journey then, as well as other fasts in which I have participated since.

What about you?  Confessions, anyone?  What parts of the Christian life do you still struggle with?  Maybe if you speak it, you’ll start to overcome it.

4 thoughts on “Confessions of a Pastor’s Wife: Admiting My Secrets

  1. Transparency is such a hard thing. I can’t even imagine the blog post if I started listing my missed opportunities to follow His instruction. However, I am grateful for the challenge othis post…to examine my heart and rededicate it to Jesus every day in a way I never have before. Thanks for the good start to my day!

    Like

  2. Jackie says:

    WOW!! I must confess also that I’ve never participated in a fast either, not of any magnitude. I’m taking baby steps and participating this week with the rest of my MLC family. It’s amazing how much God moves in you when you “Listen”. ANother confession I’m guilty is not listening to him!! I’m learning to do this and am so blessed to have the support of a wonderful church family and friends that are awesome!!! Thanks for sharing Tricia!!!

    Like

Leave a comment

