The Answer Is A Question

Being in ministry gives me the privilege of talking with people about some of the more private areas of their lives.  Marriage, work, faith, doubt, attitudes, habits….nothing is off-limits.  Inevitably in these conversations, people ask me the ultimate question: How?

 How do I overcome this habit? 

How can I make my marriage work? 

How can I know what God wants for my life?

How…?

 You fill in the blank.  We – all of us, me included – want an answer to our problems.  We want a quick fix.  And, maybe more importantly, we want it to be something that doesn’t require anything from us.

So, you ask, what is the answer?  The answer is a question:  How is your relationship with the Lord?  More often than not, a serious evaluation of that relationship will reveal all you need to take a step in the right direction, whether it’s overcoming a habit, making a major life decision, or working through a personal struggle.  If you are a Christian, then you have made Jesus your Leader, not just your Forgiver.  He is more than able to lead you where He wants you to go.  The caveat is that you spend time listening to Him.

But, there’s also a second question:  are you willing to obey what God has asked you to do?  It’s one thing to know the step to take; it’s another to walk in faith.  Are you ready to do just that in 2011?

Check out what Jesus said in John 14:21, “Whoever has my commands and obeys them, he is the one who loves me. He who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love him and show myself to him.”

That’s a powerful promise from our Savior.  If we obey His commands, He will show Himself to us.  I’m grabbing hold of that one!  How about you?

Leave a comment

