Rescued

When it comes to reading, the only thing I like better than finding a good book is reading it with someone….or a group of someones!  The MLC Pastor’s Wives (PW’s) and I enjoy reading together and then sharing our thoughts via email.  If you struggle finding time to get together in some sort of study group, this might be a viable option for you, too.  We are just finishing Twelve Extraordinary Women, by John MacArthur, and this week we read about Mary Magdalene.

Now, if you don’t know much about Mary Magdalene, let me give you a quick bio:

-She is mentioned in all 4 Gospels

-She had a dark past; she is the same woman out of whom Jesus cast 7 demons

-As a demoniac, Mary probably led an extremely isolated life.  Most demoniacs were treated as outcasts by polite society and led miserable lives.

-And, she is the first one to whom Jesus revealed Himself after His resurrection.  Pretty cool.

My mind has been swimming with Shawn’s message this past Sunday about God’s generous love, so reading about Mary Magdalene was fitting. She was delivered from much affliction – demonic bondage. She must have led a friendless, isolated, lonely life. Can you imagine how liberated she must have felt when Jesus commanded the demons out of her? Can you fathom the love she must have felt for her Savior? I can’t. When I put myself in her shoes, tears easily come to my eyes. To finally have a friend…to be found worthy of attention….to be chosen by Christ…..to be rescued from a life of literal hell….well, it’s absolutely overwhelming, isn’t it? I mean, really, let your mind go there. Mary Magdalene was rescued, delivered, loved, and made new by Jesus!

I may not have been rescued from demonic possession, but Jesus rescued me nonetheless. He absolutely rescued me.  He brought people into my life to teach me about His generous love for me.  He protected me when I made so many unwise choices.  He pursued me even when I was running in the opposite direction.  He rescued me from a life with no purpose.  Left to my own devices, I would have likely followed in the footsteps of so many and lived an empty life. But, my Savior didn’t just save me from eternal separation from Him, He saved me from a life of wandering! He set my feet on a firm foundation and lavished His love on me and gave my heart all it needed – security, purpose, worth, and esteem. How great is my our God!

What about you, my friend? How has God lavished His love on you? How has He rescued you? That’s today’s challenge: to reflect and celebrate on God’s unwarranted, generous love. And, of course, you KNOW I’d love to hear from you. I’m energized by hearing what God is teaching you, so leave me a comment and share your thoughts.

4 thoughts on “Rescued

  1. Kathy Brooks says:

    Thanks for sharing Tricia, I truly enjoy reading your blogs, so inspiring! After struggling with my faith & the faith of my family, God sent people into our lives & rescued us all! Even as hard as it has been having a grandson at the age of 39 & watching my son be a single dad, it saved us all. What a blessing God sent into our lives! We truly have experienced how wonderful our God is. For the first time in the 25 yrs. I have been married, we live God centered lives!

    Like

Leave a comment

