Christmas Movie Mayhem

Every December a few friends and I get together to watch National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation.  It’s my absolute favorite Christmas movie because it reminds me so much of my hubby’s family.  Not the parts with the drunk mother-in-law (Teresa, that’s definitely not you).  But, I promise I can find some correlation to our family in EVERY other scene.  Take for instance the squirrel running loose through the house.  We may not have had a squirrel, but we have had a new-born calf causing havoc in the kitchen.  Or, what about the infamous Christmas lights scene when Clark Griswold overcompensates with thousands of lights on his house?  We (actually, Shawn’s dad) may not have used thousands of lights, but he did use the type of lights that can blink, fade, or run all over the house.  The problem was that he wound up with the control box on the roof, so every night he  had to climb a ladder to turn on the lights.  Definitely Clark-esque.  I could go on about cousin Eddie, but…..I better not.  My wiser self prevails.

Anyway, each December we get together with friends and watch this iconic movie.  We’ve even been known to dress up as the characters.  (Yes, someone came as cousin Eddie in the white robe one year.)  I think we have as much fun quoting the movie as we do watching it. 

So, what about you?  What’s your favorite line from your favorite Chrismas movie? 

Here’s a couple of mine:

Eddie: You surprised to see us, Clark?
Clark: Oh, Eddie… If I woke up tomorrow with my head sewn to the carpet, I wouldn’t be more surprised than I am now.
 

Clark: Can I refill your eggnog for you? Get you something to eat? Drive you out to the middle of nowhere and leave you for dead?
Eddie: Naw, I’m doing just fine, Clark.

If you’re a fan, you’re smiling right now.  Your welcome.  So, what’s your favorite?

One thought on “Christmas Movie Mayhem

  1. Teresa Lovejoy says:

    Thanks for clearing that up about the drunk mother-in-law, Tricia. (I was about to panic!) We COULD go through that movie and name a family member for each part couldn’t we? Love it – and love all our “crazy, Griswald family”. Never a dull moment!

    Like

Leave a comment

