My Kids’ Thankful List

This morning, my kids are hijacking my blog.  Ok, not really hijacking.  I asked them to do it.  Nevertheless, I’m anxious to see what they are really thankful for.  Hopefully, I don’t have to edit this thing.  Here we go:

Hannah, my 11 (soon to be 12) year old:

I’m thankful for Black Friday (editor’s note: a girl after my own heart).  I’m thankful for my family because they love me no matter what.  I love having a dog….she’s lots of fun.  You tube is good for laughs.  Couldn’t live without my cell phone….except when my dad takes it away. I’m thankful for my beach vacation this year, too, since parasailing was the bomb.  And, of course, Evolve at MLC ROCKS!!!!  I’m thankful for a cool place to learn about Jesus.

Madison, 7 year old:

I am thankful for my family because they take care of me.  I am also thankful that I get to watch movies in my daddy’s office at church when I’m sick.  I loved being a cheerleader this year, too.  Oh, and my Mimi and Pawpaw are eating lunch with me today!  Love that!

Paul, my short-attention-span 6 year old:

I am thankful that my Mimi and Pawpaw are nice to me.  I’m also thankful for my family and God and Jesus.  And, my dog rocks.  And, I’m really thankful for my friends ’cause we play chase at recess.  I have to go because my Mimi wants to make brownies with me.  Bye.

Oh, I love those kids.  They make my heart full….even when they wear me out.  Even during bad days and tough times, life is good because they are in it.  I can’t imagine life without them.  Ok, that’s not true.  Shawn and I often dream about the things we’ll do when they all leave the nest.  We will enjoy some travel and even a quiet house – maybe even a clean one.  Until then, I’m loving the chaos they add to life.  The full schedule.  The extra laundry.  The silly moments.  The deep questions.  The mentoring and discipleship.  Yep, I love those kids.

Leave a comment

