SharpenHer Book Shelf

I’m a reader.   I always have a book or two on my nightstand.  Or, more recently, on my Kindle app on my Iphone.   I tend to read leadership/devotional (SharpenHer-ing) books in the morning and mind candy (suspense, mystery) at night.  At the end of a busy day, there’s nothing better than crawling under some warm blankets and reading a great story until I fall asleep – which I do almost every time I read at night.  Back in the day, my hubby would have to ease the book out of my hand and turn off my lamp.  Now, I’m all “2010” and my Iphone just cuts off after I starting making zzzz’s.  Ahh, the benefits of technology.

Want to know what’s on my shelf?  Well, here you go:

Just finished:

Christian Atheist, by Craig Groeschel I read this one along with the other Pastor’s Wives on my Ministry Team.  It was a tool for sharpening our thinking as leaders.

The Girl Who Played with Fire, by Stieg Larrsson Ok, I wanted to know what all the buzz was about.  Some scenes were far too explicit for me.

Currently reading:

12 Extraordinary Women, by John MacArthur Interesting read combining historical context of a few of the women of the Bible  with modern day application.

Tortured for Christ, by Richard Wumbrand Recommended by my friend, Amy Groeschel.  Has blown my mind on what suffering really is….and what a true follower of Jesus looks like.

So, what’s next?  That’s where you come in.  What’s on your book shelf?  Mind candy?  Leadership?  Devotional?  I read it all, so give me your recommendations!

4 thoughts on “SharpenHer Book Shelf

  1. Beverly Maloney says:

    A friend 😉 told me about Calm your Anxious Heart and I’ve been reading that. Perfect for where I am in my life right now! Love it. Also been reading Next Christian and a new version of the Bible called The Message. These two things are teaching me about what being “Christian” should be and is to me personally. All good stuff! Enjoying your blog girl!

    Like

  2. Melissa Trapnell says:

    On my nightstand: Wild Things, the art of nurturing boys, by Stephen James and David Thomas. Very, very eye-opening for anyone with a boy in their life! Great those who teach boys, too!

    Like

  3. Tammi Bramblett says:

    Tricia,
    I just finished the Memory Keeper’s Daughter. I really enjoyed it. It was all about how one lie can destroy a family. I also recently read Francine River’s Scarlett Thread (it was a little sappy for me) and really appreciated her message about the vow of marriage. But to speak on your comment about the Girl Who Played With Fire…that was my favorite!! I thought the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo was good as well but wasn’t the biggest fan of the last book which I think he was building characters for another book that is never to be written. Sorry you didn’t like the GWPF, you know me, I am not sure what too graphic really is when it comes to a crime thriller! Keep reading!

    Like

Leave a comment

