How Are Your Defenses?

This past Sunday my husband began a new message series at Mountain Lake Church called Angels and Demons.  Perfect for Halloween, right?  I mean, it’s the one day of the year that we celebrate all things paranormal.  We like to have fun dressing up in spooky costumes and watching scary movies full of the unexplained.   Well, I don’t, but my husband can’t get enough of those creepy movies.  But, this is a case where truth is stranger than fiction, because Scripture is clear that there is a heavenly realm.  Angels and demons really exist.  Angels really do the bidding of a Holy God.  Demons seek to steal, kill, and destroy.  There most definitely is a spiritual realm, invisible to us, that is waging a mighty battle between good and evil.  Hollywood couldn’t write stuff this good!

In his message, Shawn taught us that many very ordinary, everyday life experiences could be related to this spiritual warfare.  It’s quite possible that some of the physical, emotional, and spiritual pain we experience is a direct result of what’s happening in the unseen world.  Is it always?  NO.  When we make unwise choices, we must accept the consequences for those choices.  That has nothing to do with God.  But, we would be foolish to discount the effect that angels and demons can have on our lives.

Based out of Ephesians 6, Shawn challenged us all to defend ourselves because “…our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.”

Our greatest weapons?  Our bible and our prayer life.  Sounds cliché, but that’s only because we’ve turned bible reading and praying into an “ought-to” rather than a “get-to.”  So, today I thought I’d share one of my most prized possessions with you.  Here it is:

You’ve got it.  That beat up thing is my bible.  I’ve had it rebound before, and it needs it again.  Why not buy a new one?  Because it’s chockfull (I’m from the South) of notes and highlights of times God taught me valuable lessons.  Some of you might feel uncomfortable actually writing in your bible.  But, let me encourage you: mark it up!!  If the God of the universe has spoken to you, you might want to take a note, or two.  Writing in my bible has actually helped me remember stories, verses, and commands that I might have missed if I hadn’t spent some extra time studying.   Those verses have been my weapon in overcoming many obstacles and battles!  The Apostle Paul called Scripture the sword of the Spirit – that sounds like a weapon to me!

So, what about you?  Do you need a weapon to overcome something in your life – an attitude, a habit, an unwarranted attack, an upside down perspective?  Your greatest weapon is not another self-help book or even a well-meaning friend.  No, your greatest weapon is probably gathering dust on the bookshelf.  So, pull your bible down, dust it off, and defend yourself.  And, I just have to know…..do you write in yours?

Check back tomorrow and I’ll give you an inside look at my prayer life, my other not-so-secret weapon.

6B6A23A1E06E69BEB0124FAF2CA3C684

7 thoughts on “How Are Your Defenses?

  1. Tricia – I just have to tell that I really enjoyed your post. Like you, I am a Southerner who loves my Bible and writing in it… I can’t imagine getting a new one… ugh, the thought! My notes help me recall great sermons, lessons, messages from the Holy Spirit.

    I have the names of missionaries in the front who have signed it and put their fields down so I can remember to pray for them. Students that I have been blessed to pray with as they cry out for salvation have written their names and dates in the back.

    It is a history book for me… a history of God’s love, the foundation of our world and a history of my life as a Christian.

    Thank you for making me feel a little more normal! ❤

    Thanks for joining the blogging world! 🙂

    Melissa (TubsWife)

    Like

  2. Susan Williams says:

    Great words, Tricia! I write in my Bible all the time and when I re-read those verses, they speak to me even more powerfully.

    Like

  3. Rachel McClure says:

    Great blog…I will enjoy following your insight and perspective! You told me 2 years ago to start writing in my bible and I did. Its great to be able to flip through and rediscover those little lessons that spoke to me! Blog on sister…..:)

    Like

  4. Teresa Lovejoy says:

    Great blog, Tricia! I will enjoy reading this everyday to help keep up with the Georgia Lovejoys! You are so wise beyond your years and have a wonderful way of leading and sharing with others. By the way, I too have taken notes in my Bibles over the years (but I have gone through three different ones) since I was very young. I have begun dating my notes and putting the name/initials of who I was listening to at the time. My mind is not at all like it use to be!

    Like

Leave a comment

